Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Mandrake 10.1 Screen Resolution Problem

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alexhm



Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 11:07 pm
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 11:25 pm    Post subject: Mandrake 10.1 Screen Resolution Problem Reply with quote

I have a home-built PC with a triple boot system, Widows XP, Suse Prof 9.2 and Mandrake 10.1. Intel 845G/GL chipset, with 82845G/GL screen card and Yüsmart 178MP-A TFT screen. Somehow I managed to screw up the screen settings for Mandrake and now I can't see a thing after start-up. The screen looks like it has vertical blue blinds on it and it is absolutely impossible to read anything. BTW, SUSE has none of these problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nobber
LXF regular


Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 4:24 pm
Posts: 370
Location: Nova Scotia

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 2:27 pm    Post subject: RE: Mandrake 10.1 Screen Resolution Problem Reply with quote

I'd try booting into SUSE and copying its /etc/X11/xorg.conf file over to the Mandrake partition, and then try booting Mandrake.
_________________
800 LINES ERIC - GET BACK TO PYSKOOL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
towy71
Moderator


Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 3:11 pm
Posts: 4254
Location: wild West Wales

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 4:13 pm    Post subject: RE: Mandrake 10.1 Screen Resolution Problem Reply with quote

press Ctrl+Alt+F1 which will take you to a login prompt and run drakx or somesuch which will alter the X-windows setup, possibly copying your SuSE XF86Config-4 file Wink
HTH
Dick
_________________
still looking for that door into summer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graham
Site admin


Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 10:31 am
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 5:01 pm    Post subject: RE: Mandrake 10.1 Screen Resolution Problem Reply with quote

Sounds almost certainly like your monitor settings in /etc/X11/xorg.conf are out of your monitor's range. From memory, SUSE and Mandriva set up their xorg.conf files slightly differently, so copying one over the other probably won't work, causing X to fail at initialisation.

Your best bet is to either select a generic and low-resolution monitor from drakx as suggested, or edit the incompatible screen mode out of the xorg.conf file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mugstar
LXF regular


Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 1:43 am
Posts: 184
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 5:09 pm    Post subject: Re: RE: Mandrake 10.1 Screen Resolution Problem Reply with quote

graham wrote:
From memory, SUSE and Mandriva set up their xorg.conf files slightly differently, so copying one over the other probably won't work, causing X to fail at initialisation.


From my experience, I've never had a problem copying a working xorg.conf or X11 config from one distro to another. AFAIK, xorg neither knows nor cares which distro it's running with - the syntax of the file remains constant, and independent of anything else on the system. Copying the file over would be my preferred option...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graham
Site admin


Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 10:31 am
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 5:27 pm    Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Mandrake 10.1 Screen Resolution Problem Reply with quote

In theory, I agree, it should work.

But there are differences. Mandrake uses /dev/mouse while SUSE uses /dev/input/mice (9.3), for example, and the mouse driver can be configured differently. The same could be said for the modules, fonts or keyboard driver paths, and drakx would probably go and write a new one given half a chance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
towy71
Moderator


Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 3:11 pm
Posts: 4254
Location: wild West Wales

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:02 pm    Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Mandrake 10.1 Screen Resolution Problem Reply with quote

Mandrake doesn't mind if mouse is /dev/psaux either in my experience and any of the Debian based don't seem to mind either, this is of assuming that one is using a ps2 mouse and not USB or IR or other exotic
_________________
still looking for that door into summer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mugstar
LXF regular


Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 1:43 am
Posts: 184
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let's find out, eh? Very Happy

I have mandrake 10.1 official and suse 9.2 pro on this box - I'll copy over the xorg.conf from suse and do a reboot.

If I don't post back within an hour, someone tell alexhm to ignore my post above Shocked

EDIT:

Well, here I am, back in mandrake using the xorg.conf from suse9.2.
Looks like we were both right to a certain extent, as the fonts in KDE now seem to have got a bit larger than they were before. They're not messed up or anything, I'm probably just seeing the default suse kde font instead of the custom one I used.

There was an empty section right at the end of the suse xorg.conf as follows:
Code:
Section "Extensions"
EndSection
which caused a fatal parse error the first time xorg tried to start. I commented it out, and xorg started perfectly next time (this session).

There you go then, alexhm. Two solutions for the price of one Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If its the mandrake your monitor is messed up on then just run from command line and root access drakeconf and reslect all your monitors again...
simple..
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem...
My monitor is a Sony 1280x1024. However if I give The mandrake 10.0 KDE 3.2 this resolution the desktop grows and things on the borders go out of visibility. I have to set it up as if my monitor was 1024x768.
This of course wont let me take full advantage of my true resolution and fonts are not too confortable as they are blurry. I have not been able to solve this
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anonymous wrote:
If its the mandrake your monitor is messed up on then just run from command line and root access drakeconf and reslect all your monitors again...
simple..


It's actually 'drakcon' but yes, you're right.. this is the quickest and best fix if you're using mandrake.
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bah, i cant type.. its 'drakconf' i was missing the f and the guest above me added an e.
Back to top
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast