Reinstalling Windows

Help and discussion about non-Linux operating systems

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Postby TheWizardofOdds » Sat Oct 08, 2011 1:47 pm

Ram wrote:Wont work, if I understand you correctly you currently don't have a PC with Windows installed.


That's correct.

Will it work if I reboot with XP install disk in drive first?
User avatar
TheWizardofOdds
LXF regular
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 1:37 pm

Postby Ram » Sat Oct 08, 2011 7:16 pm

In a word no. XP needs to be installed to the hard drive before any of that would work.

Try making a copy of the CD, there is no protection on it so if it fails it's either because the CD is unreadable or you have a faulty CD/DVD drive.

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby TheWizardofOdds » Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:46 pm

I might be getting somewhere with this...

I've managed to get to the Partition part of the Windows XP install. This is how it appears approx:

Partition 1. 11100 MB (11099 MB free)
" 3. 320445 MB (320444 MB free)
" 4. 5922 MB ( 5922 MB free)
" 2. 5930 MB (5930 MB free)

When I boot up normally I can see 8.04 Ubuntu LTS and 11.04, which I currently use. I don't have a clue which of the above 4 partitions is which. I want to keep 11.04 and install Windows XP. Which of the above can I safely delete/install XP on? 4/2?

I'm aware I haven't given you a lot to go on here, but hope it makes sense to someone.
User avatar
TheWizardofOdds
LXF regular
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 1:37 pm

Postby dandnsmith » Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:45 am

A lot of this thread revolves around the make-up and validity of this XP CD.
I purchased such a CD (via ebay) from a German provider.
The CD successfully installed XP, which then passed the validity checks from M'soft.
I understand these particular XP licences are in some way being 'recycled' - but they seem genuine.

My advice is to concentrate on that CD reader - it may well be giving problems, as has been suggested.
Derek
dandnsmith
LXF regular
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: Berks, UK

Postby TheWizardofOdds » Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:27 am

dandnsmith wrote:A lot of this thread revolves around the make-up and validity of this XP CD.
I purchased such a CD (via ebay) from a German provider.
The CD successfully installed XP, which then passed the validity checks from M'soft.
I understand these particular XP licences are in some way being 'recycled' - but they seem genuine.

My advice is to concentrate on that CD reader - it may well be giving problems, as has been suggested.


Thanks, dandnssmith. I hope that the problem has now been resolved with a new disk having been sent to me. My issue now is with which part to partition?
User avatar
TheWizardofOdds
LXF regular
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 1:37 pm

Postby TheWizardofOdds » Mon Oct 24, 2011 2:27 pm

I've managed to install Windows XP and I also have Ubuntu 11.04, now.

I have made a mess of the partition but have been able to salvage my previous account but not my girlfriends on 11.04? Also I can't get XP to recognize my BT home Hub so I have to use Ubuntu to go online, I can't activate XP, does anyone have any ideas what I can do, please?
User avatar
TheWizardofOdds
LXF regular
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 1:37 pm

Postby Ram » Mon Oct 24, 2011 4:38 pm

Instead of activating online phone them up, it's a free phone number.

You will have to key in the activation code and will receive 25 charactor alphanumeric license key in return.

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby TheWizardofOdds » Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:47 pm

Ram wrote:Instead of activating online phone them up, it's a free phone number.

You will have to key in the activation code and will receive 25 charactor alphanumeric license key in return.


The service just asks for the 6 digit group of codes you have to enter, you have to access those online and then call with the codes, Ram.

I entered;

c:\windows\system32\oobe\msoobe /a in Start then Run as I have been shown by the seller of the disk. I received this message when I entered the command:

\oobe refers to a location that is unavailable, it could be on a hard drive on this computer or on a network. Please make sure the disk is properly inserted (?) or that you are connected to the internet.

Any ideas? Like I say I have the activation code/product key but cannot get online to get the 6 digit code group that I need to activate.
User avatar
TheWizardofOdds
LXF regular
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 1:37 pm

Postby towy71 » Tue Oct 25, 2011 4:37 pm

The phone number for an activation code was 0800 0188354 last year some time
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4264
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby Ram » Tue Oct 25, 2011 5:09 pm

TheWizardofOdds wrote:
Ram wrote:Instead of activating online phone them up, it's a free phone number.

You will have to key in the activation code and will receive 25 charactor alphanumeric license key in return.


The service just asks for the 6 digit group of codes you have to enter, you have to access those online and then call with the codes, Ram.

I entered;

c:\windows\system32\oobe\msoobe /a in Start then Run as I have been shown by the seller of the disk. I received this message when I entered the command:

\oobe refers to a location that is unavailable, it could be on a hard drive on this computer or on a network. Please make sure the disk is properly inserted (?) or that you are connected to the internet.

Any ideas? Like I say I have the activation code/product key but cannot get online to get the 6 digit code group that I need to activate.


Select the radio button to do it online, click next.

You should get something like this image

http://www.tipandtrick.net/wp-content/u ... ct-key.jpg

Click Telephone

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby dandnsmith » Wed Oct 26, 2011 6:50 am

TheWizardofOdds wrote:
Ram wrote:I entered;

c:\windows\system32\oobe\msoobe /a in Start then Run as I have been shown by the seller of the disk. I received this message when I entered the command:

\oobe refers to a location that is unavailable, it could be on a hard drive on this computer or on a network. Please make sure the disk is properly inserted (?) or that you are connected to the internet.


I just checked on an XP system - that path is correct.
Have you tried navigating through the path using Windows Explore, just to check. (for me, it isn't C: as my disk is differently organised, with an install of Win98 in C: and XP in D:, where the msoobe.exe resides)

HTH
Derek
dandnsmith
LXF regular
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: Berks, UK

Postby TheWizardofOdds » Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:59 pm

towy71 wrote:The phone number for an activation code was 0800 0188354 last year some time


Thanks, I called that number but I have first to go online to obtain some code that I then enter via telephone. Problem is I can't get XP to recognise my internet connection.
User avatar
TheWizardofOdds
LXF regular
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 1:37 pm

Postby TheWizardofOdds » Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:42 pm

I clicked on the Windows activation bubble and went through the process and this time I have activated Windows successfully. I still cannot access the Internet. This is the message I receive:

Windows could not detect any wired or wireless network cards installed on your machine, please make sure the network card drivers are installed properly.

Also if I have a dial-up connection to contact my ISP provider.

Is it a problem with Drivers?
User avatar
TheWizardofOdds
LXF regular
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 1:37 pm

Postby Ram » Wed Oct 26, 2011 10:08 pm

TheWizardofOdds wrote:I clicked on the Windows activation bubble and went through the process and this time I have activated Windows successfully. I still cannot access the Internet. This is the message I receive:

Windows could not detect any wired or wireless network cards installed on your machine, please make sure the network card drivers are installed properly.

Also if I have a dial-up connection to contact my ISP provider.

Is it a problem with Drivers?


Yes, by default XP does not have any drivers for network cards.
If you have a driver disk for the card use that to install the drivers or while in linux download them from the cards makers site, save then to a location that XP can access.

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby TheWizardofOdds » Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:47 pm

Ram wrote:
TheWizardofOdds wrote:I clicked on the Windows activation bubble and went through the process and this time I have activated Windows successfully. I still cannot access the Internet. This is the message I receive:

Windows could not detect any wired or wireless network cards installed on your machine, please make sure the network card drivers are installed properly.

Also if I have a dial-up connection to contact my ISP provider.

Is it a problem with Drivers?


Yes, by default XP does not have any drivers for network cards.
If you have a driver disk for the card use that to install the drivers or while in linux download them from the cards makers site, save then to a location that XP can access.


I don't have any disks that came with the PC when I bought it (Lesson learned).

According to the seller it is a LAN card that I need. I went to Maplin's and
spoke to a helpful employee who said that I should download drivers for the motherboard for my PC and save to a pen drive then upload to XP. I use an HP PC which came with Vista can you get drivers for a retro distro like XP?( Not on the HP website, only Vista n 7).

Goddamn this is stretching my tiny mind. :lol:

How do I find out what motherboard is in my PC?

Thanks.
User avatar
TheWizardofOdds
LXF regular
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 1:37 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Other OS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests