Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Host Linux or host Windows
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pk_fox
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:38 pm
Posts: 292
Location: Surrey, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:20 am    Post subject: Host Linux or host Windows Reply with quote

Hi all, I'm in the market for a new PC and need the capability to create virtual machines as I have to use Windows for my job. I have two questions. 1) Do I make Linux or Windows the host ? And 2) What sort of spec PC do I need to create VM's ( completely new to all things virtual )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dutch_Master
LXF regular


Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 2:49 am
Posts: 2431

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As you'd expect here, we recommend Linux as the host platform Razz

As for the spec's: depending on other requirements, any PC with >2 GHz clock speed and 3 GB RAM will run a Win-OS guest. However, mind that Vi$ta requires a minimum of 2 GB RAM to work, so the more RAM you put in, the better it'll perform, for M$ standards of course Wink

FYI: my 'normal' supplier of PC components also has "upgrade kits". One has an Asus mainboard (FM1 socket), a top-end (-ish) AMD proc and 8 GB RAM (1333, IIRC) for under 200 Euro. Add enclosure, PSU (if not included in enclosure) and harddrive and basically, you'd be done for under 350 Euro.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pk_fox
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:38 pm
Posts: 292
Location: Surrey, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dutch_Master wrote:
As you'd expect here, we recommend Linux as the host platform Razz

As for the spec's: depending on other requirements, any PC with >2 GHz clock speed and 3 GB RAM will run a Win-OS guest. However, mind that Vi$ta requires a minimum of 2 GB RAM to work, so the more RAM you put in, the better it'll perform, for M$ standards of course Wink

FYI: my 'normal' supplier of PC components also has "upgrade kits". One has an Asus mainboard (FM1 socket), a top-end (-ish) AMD proc and 8 GB RAM (1333, IIRC) for under 200 Euro. Add enclosure, PSU (if not included in enclosure) and harddrive and basically, you'd be done for under 350 Euro.


Sorry my bad, I meant laptop not desktop, thanks for the spec though at least I know now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ram
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 1671
Location: Guisborough

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same goes for Laptops.
_________________

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular


Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 11:41 pm
Posts: 3444
Location: Birmingham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using Linux as the host has the advantage that you can run multiple instances of the same windows license (just not at the same time) for testing purposes, as the virtual and actual hardware remain the same.
I do this to maintain a software demo suite for incompatible applications.
_________________
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pk_fox
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:38 pm
Posts: 292
Location: Surrey, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2012 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wyliecoyoteuk wrote:
Using Linux as the host has the advantage that you can run multiple instances of the same windows license (just not at the same time) for testing purposes, as the virtual and actual hardware remain the same.
I do this to maintain a software demo suite for incompatible applications.


Hi, thanks for your help, I can see I need to read some more on VM's - will Google for a tutorial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular


Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 11:41 pm
Posts: 3444
Location: Birmingham, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, make a windows VM, activate and then clone it.
Because the hard disk, processor, gfx, and network card MAC address remain the same, it is effectively the same PC.
Just don't try to run more than one copy at a time.
_________________
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reklan



Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:41 am
Posts: 85
Location: Doncaster, Yorkshire

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OR look at dual boot...

If you need to use Windows for work purposes and Linux for personal use.. consider dual booting..

if the only reason was to use a VM for having the second OS.. with a dual boot setup. you can both OS's to their max ability and use your hardware to it fullest
_________________
Don't Dream it....Be it..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular


Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 11:41 pm
Posts: 3444
Location: Birmingham, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Only problem with dual boot is that you can only access one OS at a time.
Most modern PCs can easily support 2 or more OSes in VMs.
I have a 4 core AMD processor with 8Gb of memory, and it can happily run several VMs simultaneously.
My dual core 4 GB laptop can run 2 without a problem.
_________________
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reklan



Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:41 am
Posts: 85
Location: Doncaster, Yorkshire

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very true..

I must admit, I dual boot and use virtual machines.. I do however find that under Linux they do seem to run a tad faster than under windows..

but maybe its because i have moved to Virtual Box rather than Virtual PC/VM Workstation...

Smile
_________________
Don't Dream it....Be it..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pk_fox
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:38 pm
Posts: 292
Location: Surrey, UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wyliecoyoteuk wrote:
Only problem with dual boot is that you can only access one OS at a time.
Most modern PCs can easily support 2 or more OSes in VMs.
I have a 4 core AMD processor with 8Gb of memory, and it can happily run several VMs simultaneously.
My dual core 4 GB laptop can run 2 without a problem.


Hi there, what laptop do you have ? I need to be able to run Visual Studio 2008 on the windows side of things and Fedora as my main OS. Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ram
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 1671
Location: Guisborough

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have an HP G62, 3 gig, I3 Quad core running Ubuntu 10.04 LTS and Virtualbox Ver 4.1.10r76795 running XP with 500 MB of Ram

This for testing / dev work.

MS SQL Server 2005
MS Visual C# 2008 & 2010 Express Editions
MS XNA Game Studio 3.0

If that helps
_________________

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular


Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 11:41 pm
Posts: 3444
Location: Birmingham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its a Lenovo core i5@2.3 GHz with 4Gb of memory
_________________
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pk_fox
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:38 pm
Posts: 292
Location: Surrey, UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ram wrote:
I have an HP G62, 3 gig, I3 Quad core running Ubuntu 10.04 LTS and Virtualbox Ver 4.1.10r76795 running XP with 500 MB of Ram

This for testing / dev work.

MS SQL Server 2005
MS Visual C# 2008 & 2010 Express Editions
MS XNA Game Studio 3.0

If that helps


It does help thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pk_fox
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:38 pm
Posts: 292
Location: Surrey, UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wyliecoyoteuk wrote:
Its a Lenovo core i5@2.3 GHz with 4Gb of memory


Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast