Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Suitable OS for EEEPC 701

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JohnA1954



Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Ayrshire

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:42 pm    Post subject: Suitable OS for EEEPC 701 Reply with quote

Hi Everyone.
I know that there are loads of replacements for the original OS on the 701 and have tried several (Mint, Ubuntu, Lubuntu) but they all suffer from one problem: When connecting to a Wireless network they have the option to show the encryption key in text. We have 30 of these netbooks in the school I work in and we cannot allow this key to be made available to the pupils. The original OS does not show the key but is obviously well out of date.
Can anyone suggest a suitable OS that would not show this.
Many thanks in advance.
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dutch_Master
LXF regular


Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 2:49 am
Posts: 2435

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried plain Debian? (install a minimal text system, then load XFCE or similar, but steer clear from KDE and Gnome!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heiowge
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:21 pm
Posts: 1901
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the 701 the 4G version? I have the 2G version. The biggest issue with a distro is size. Most distros these days are slightly larger than 4GB. Have you tried Ubuntu 10.04. I know it's not 100% up to date, but it is supported still.

Maybe puppy linux?

Failing all that, have you thought of Ubuntu Server an then installing XFCE over the top (along with any other essential apps)?

Or you could always install to an SD card...
_________________
i5 4440 3.1Ghz, Asus H87M-E motherboard, 8GB DDR3, 2GB DDR5 nVidia card, 2x500GB Seagate hd, Coolermaster 750W PSU running Mint 16 MATE and Win7

eeepc 1015PX, 1.66 Ghz Intel atom processor, 2 GB DDR3, 320 GB hd, Mint 14 MATE. Fan needs fixing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
towy71
Moderator


Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 3:11 pm
Posts: 4262
Location: wild West Wales

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guys, while your replies are trying to help they don't address the issue of hiding the wep/wpa password problem; I'm sure someone knows the right answer it just ain't me Wink
_________________
still looking for that door into summer


Last edited by towy71 on Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heiowge
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:21 pm
Posts: 1901
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought most distros had a handle on it. It's just that the eeepc's default Xandros is crap! Laughing
_________________
i5 4440 3.1Ghz, Asus H87M-E motherboard, 8GB DDR3, 2GB DDR5 nVidia card, 2x500GB Seagate hd, Coolermaster 750W PSU running Mint 16 MATE and Win7

eeepc 1015PX, 1.66 Ghz Intel atom processor, 2 GB DDR3, 320 GB hd, Mint 14 MATE. Fan needs fixing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ram
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 1672
Location: Guisborough

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isn't that just while you do you the initial entry of the password, once it's set you have made the first connection it then can't be seen.


Edit.

Having checked, you can still recall it.

Edit #2

You could de-install Network Manager and install WICD as the last post in this thread states
_________________

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
JohnA1954



Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Ayrshire

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the replies.
Apologies for not responding earlier but our Internet was down all day at work.
Yes the password can still be seen after a reboot. The original Xandros does not but as mentioned it is crap.
I am currently trying Dutch Master's suggestion of Debian. I use Squeeze as my main os but originally had thought it would be too large. Got as far as the basic install last night and still to install XFCE. (over the weekend)
RAM, thanks for that suggestion and sounds like an option to try if Squeeze does not work out.
Thanks again for your help, will post over weekend results.
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oh well!



Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:02 pm
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:19 am    Post subject: openSUSE Reply with quote

Here's an idea if you don't solve the problem with Debian:
Install openSUSE --> open YaST (requires entering the administrator password) --> Select Network Settings --> A message will appear saying that the 'network is currently controlled by Network Manager [Gnome desktop]: use that or switch network setup to traditional with ifup' --> click OK --> deselect 'User Controlled with Network Manager' and select 'Traditional Method with ifup' --> and then you're on your own--I'm still using Network Manager because it's simple and works. However, switching to ifup would, presumably, ensure that the network password is hidden from ordinary users and require that the administrator password is needed to view it. openSUSE makes switching to ifup easy; it will be possible in other distros, but it's probably fiddlier to sort out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast