Is it possible for me to virtualise Windows 7 Home Premium?

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Is it possible for me to virtualise Windows 7 Home Premium?

Postby Alex01UK » Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:15 am

Is it possible for me to virtualise Windows 7 Home Premium on my laptop? At a reasonable speed for free? Laptop spec. in sig.

tia, from Alex.
Chrome OS: Samsung ARM Series 3 Chromebook, 32bit ARM Ubuntu 12.o4 HFCE.
64bit Windows 7 Home Premium, 64bit Ubuntu Studio 14.o4, 32bit Mint 17 MATE.

''I am what I am, because we are what we are.''
User avatar
Alex01UK
LXF regular
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 4:31 pm
Location: Scarborough, North Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Postby bobthebob1234 » Tue Sep 24, 2013 10:25 am

In theory, yes.
However whether Windows licensing would like it is a different question...
For certain you have to be lost to find the places that can't be found. Elseways, everyone would know where it was
User avatar
bobthebob1234
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1369
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:38 pm
Location: A hole in a field

Postby Marrea » Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:27 am

bobthebob1234 wrote:In theory, yes.
However whether Windows licensing would like it is a different question...


http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/legal/intellectualproperty/UseTerms/default.aspx

MICROSOFT SOFTWARE LICENSE TERMS
WINDOWS 7 HOME PREMIUM

3. ADDITIONAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS AND/OR USE RIGHTS.

d. Use with Virtualization Technologies. Instead of using the software directly on the licensed computer, you may install and use the software within only one virtual (or otherwise emulated) hardware system on the licensed computer. When used in a virtualized environment, content protected by digital rights management technology, BitLocker or any full volume disk drive encryption technology may not be as secure as protected content not in a virtualized environment. You should comply with all domestic and international laws that apply to such protected content.


I think the relevant words are “instead of”, ie the same licence can’t be used for both a native and a vm installation. At least that’s the way I read it.
User avatar
Marrea
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1873
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:32 pm
Location: Chilterns, West Hertfordshire


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nelz and 5 guests