New PC

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

New PC

Postby DavidMcCrossan » Mon Jan 20, 2014 2:35 pm

My new PC will arrive in a couple of days and I was able to specify my hardware needs according to LXF 161 advice.

I intend to use Mint 16 64, Cinnamon, and it is a beast!

I have been an advocate of a separate /home partition, but this time I will allow Mint to do it´s own thing.

I shall do a backup to USB stick (as ext4) and copy this to the new HDD.

I seem to have a distant memory of reading that I could somehow retain the system settings from my current /etc file. Please could someone please let me know if this right (or even possible?).

Such a faff typing in all the www addresses....

Best

David
Semper in Excretam
DavidMcCrossan
LXF regular
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:46 am

Postby nelz » Mon Jan 20, 2014 2:54 pm

I'd still stick with a separate /home.

You can also copy the contents of /etc to the USB stick (or somewhere on /home if you keep it) but don't try restoring them en masse to the new system. Instead, use them as a reference when setting up the new system.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8493
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

New PC

Postby DavidMcCrossan » Mon Jan 20, 2014 3:17 pm

Many thanx, Neil!

Wilco

Best

David
Semper in Excretam
DavidMcCrossan
LXF regular
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:46 am

New PC

Postby DavidMcCrossan » Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:04 pm

May I be so bold to ask for a bit more advice?

My new PC comes with 8GB of fast RAM but the smallest HDD they could find is 500Gb.

My existing PC is formatted as 20Gb for root, 1GB for swap and the rest for /home - some 180GB, of which I use around 1Gb.

I see 20Gb for root, 2GB for swap and the rest for /home.

Any other ideas?

Best

David
Semper in Excretam
DavidMcCrossan
LXF regular
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:46 am

Postby Dutch_Master » Mon Feb 17, 2014 4:38 pm

Find yourself a small, cheap SSD drive. Even the slowest of the SSD type is faster then an HDD. I've found the Kingston SSDNow S200 SS200S3/30G on the site of my regular supplier for less the 40 Euro, so 30-35 GBP should be feasible. It's only 30 GB, but that's more then adequate for the system itself. That leaves the entire HDD available for /home. Mind, you need some brackets to mount the 2.5" SSD into a 3.5" slot :)
Dutch_Master
LXF regular
 
Posts: 2445
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 1:49 am

Postby towy71 » Mon Feb 17, 2014 10:11 pm

that seems fine to me, below is the layout of my hdd, the swap is not there but is the same size as the RAM of 2gig
Code: Select all
matilda:~$ df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda1       8.7G  4.0G  4.3G  48% /
/dev/sda3       196G  112G   84G  58% /media/storage
/dev/sda4       179G   62G  112G  36% /home
Everything seems to work fine :wink:
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4263
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

New PC

Postby DavidMcCrossan » Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:35 pm

Thanx guys for your advice.
DM I hear well what you are saying but buying yet more storage seems to me wasteful. I will be 72 in a few days so I doubt I would see much difference in speed. Great price. tho´
Thanx also Towy for your help.
I wonder if now would be a good time to investigate a VM on a part of the huge storage space. Maybe 50Gb would allow me to have a play at all sorts of interesting things without comprising my existing system. I remember there were some interesting articles of late and I have it mind to look them up. How might a suitable partition layout be formed and what types of partitions would I need to specify?
I suspect 4Gb of fast Ram should be allocated to the Volume when I get to install and use it. Would I lose the Ram even when the VM was not called into use?
Backup and partitioning info are my first concerns.

Best regards

David
Semper in Excretam
DavidMcCrossan
LXF regular
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:46 am

Postby nelz » Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:40 pm

You don't need different partitioning for VMs. They use disk files on an existing filesystem, not partitions.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8493
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

New PC

Postby DavidMcCrossan » Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:25 pm

Nelz, you are a star, as ever!

I shall start from Wylie´s startpoint and go from there later, when all is stable.

Hell of a /home tho´.....

Best regards

David
Semper in Excretam
DavidMcCrossan
LXF regular
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:46 am


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests