Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

adsl-start as user?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tyke



Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 11:33 am
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2005 9:48 am    Post subject: adsl-start as user? Reply with quote

I've recently switched to broadband, using a cheap ethernet modem. It works perfectly using rp-pppoe, but I'd rather not have to type "adsl-start" and "adsl-stop" in a root terminal every time I want to connect/disconnect. I'd like to have desktop or taskbar icon(s) which would run the commands for me without having to log in as root. Okay, so I'm lazy!

I've googled around for a solution, and it seems the best way to go is to use sudo - could anyone walk me through a simple way of going about it? I've read "man sudoers" but glazed over a bit at the Extended Backhaus-Naur Form thing.....

If it would be easier, I'm quite happy with changing permissions on the relevant bits of the program, but I'm not sure what I actually need to change. If anyone has done this, or can just point me in the right direction, I'd be very grateful.

Using Slackware 10.1 with KDE, by the way.

TIA, Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fairless



Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:31 am
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2005 1:32 pm    Post subject: RE: adsl-start as user? Reply with quote

Can you not put a script in the KDE Autostart folder, or add an entry to /etc/rc.local? If you're using ADSL do you want to manually stop/start or do you want it to happen on boot/login? Neil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 1:08 am    Post subject: RE: adsl-start as user? Reply with quote

Well, eventually got it sorted. After a bit more in-depth Googling and much faffing about with visudo - why does vi have to be so counterintuitive? - I can now sudo adsl-start as user, and it was easy enough to put a couple of buttons in the KDE taskbar to connect/disconnect.

All I need now is some kind of applet to show I'm connected......... I'll keep Googling, I think. For now I'm content to have learned a little about sudo. Smile
Back to top
Tyke



Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 11:33 am
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 1:09 am    Post subject: RE: adsl-start as user? Reply with quote

Forgot to log in, dammit! That was me, of course.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
towy71
Moderator


Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 3:11 pm
Posts: 4257
Location: wild West Wales

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 9:14 am    Post subject: RE: adsl-start as user? Reply with quote

Is the modem an independant unit? If so why do you need to start and stop it? I too have a cheap modem which is always on whether my computer is on or not, it makes no difference to your telephone or anything.

Dick
_________________
still looking for that door into summer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8455
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 9:20 am    Post subject: RE: adsl-start as user? Reply with quote

visudo doesn't have to use vi, it uses whatever is set in your $EDITOR environment variable.

Last edited by nelz on Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 9:01 pm    Post subject: RE: adsl-start as user? Reply with quote

Tyke, can you provide a break down on how you did it.
Back to top
bigblack



Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 10:54 am
Posts: 72
Location: uk

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 12:03 pm    Post subject: RE: adsl-start as user? Reply with quote

Just out of interest, what ethernet card are you using?

I am soon going to go broadband, but I am more concerned about getting linux to work than windohs.

I am also using slackware 10.1.

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast