Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Linux on windows Vertual pc
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Other OS
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ram
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 1661
Location: Guisborough

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:50 pm    Post subject: Re: RE: Re: Microsoft VPC Linux support... Reply with quote

phil1ooo wrote:
sled came in vmware tools,You know I haven't been able to do anything on this so called great linux system due to this fact,,I installed Suse in vmware it then told me I had to install vmware tools .


And as I said you install tools for windows not linux as that the environment your running vm from.
_________________

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
phil1ooo



Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 3:46 pm
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 11:45 pm    Post subject: Re: RE: Re: Microsoft VPC Linux support... Reply with quote

[And as I said you install tools for windows not linux as that the environment your running vm from.[/quote]

OK the vmware tools I downloaded came from the vmware toolbar and I have gone and looked for other vmware tools independently but it just reverts me bact to this one.

PAUL mate:,you go right ahead a give me that headache if you think your good enough to help solve this problem as I don't get insulted or affended by a few words,herd it all before so bring it on mate your more than welcome i'm all ears and it would be very much appreciated beleive me.

As for you others that just agree with him and nothing else,get a life.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular


Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 11:41 pm
Posts: 3422
Location: Birmingham, UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:56 am    Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: Microsoft VPC Linux support... Reply with quote

Phil1ooo:
Sorry, 1sf (troll) is the Linuxformat resident threadjacker, just ignore him (and the banter that he attracts Wink
Installing applications in Linux is actually easier than Windows, as long as you use the package manager for your distro .
Microsoft (and others) tried to get people to install stuff using the add/remove programs install manager, but most people and most software just ignore it.
On Linux, that is not an option.
I have seen the advice given you on another thread about this link.
follow it carefully and it will help.

.rpm files are not .exe files or whatever, they are packages of files and settings that need to be read and installed using a package manager. YAST (Yet Another Setup Tool). is the Suse version of the control panel in Windows.

Suse 10.1 actually has the install process locked down a bit too tight, 10.2 is much better ( I use it all the time).
One way around the repository problem, if you can't find the .rpm that you want in one, is to make a local folder for .rpms, and add that to yast as a repository.
I am sure when you get to know your way around, you will be fine.Smile
_________________
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************


Last edited by wyliecoyoteuk on Sun Sep 23, 2007 11:14 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular


Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 11:41 pm
Posts: 3422
Location: Birmingham, UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 11:13 am    Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: Microsoft VPC Linux support... Reply with quote

Have you tried this? is this where you get permission denied?
Quote:
The installers for VMware Tools for Windows, Linux, FreeBSD, Solaris, and NetWare
guest operating systems are installed with VMware Workstation as ISO image files.
When you choose VM>Install VMware Tools from the VMware Workstation menu
bar, Workstation temporarily connects the virtual machine’s first virtual CD‐ROM drive
to the correct ISO image file for the guest operating system. You are ready to begin the
installation process.
You can use this menu command to either install or upgrade VMware Tools. On
Windows and Linux guests, you can also set VMware Tools to perform automatic
updates, as described in the next section, “Upgrading VMware Tools” on page 116.

_________________
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester


Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 3:52 pm
Posts: 2425
Location: wigan

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
PAUL mate:,you go right ahead a give me that headache if you think your good enough to help solve this problem as I don't get insulted or affended by a few words

Confused Confused Confused
you seem to as i was agreeing with you and you're arguing with me??????
paul
_________________
i am a follower of the culture

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8375
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 1:45 pm    Post subject: Re: RE: Re: Microsoft VPC Linux support... Reply with quote

Ram wrote:
And as I said you install tools for windows not linux as that the environment your running vm from.


VMware-tools is installed in the guest operating system, so the Linux version is correct. However, despite what VMware tell you, it is not required. I run several Linux guest OSes without vmware-tools installed.

However, phil1ooo, you are going to have to recognise that this is a peer support forums where abuse of those trying to help is even less welcome than on a paid support line. Don't expect the people you are abusing to go out of their way to help you.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ram
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 1661
Location: Guisborough

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 11:00 pm    Post subject: Re: RE: Re: Microsoft VPC Linux support... Reply with quote

nelz wrote:
Ram wrote:
And as I said you install tools for windows not linux as that the environment your running vm from.


VMware-tools is installed in the guest operating system, so the Linux version is correct. However, despite what VMware tell you, it is not required. I run several Linux guest OSes without vmware-tools installed.

However, phil1ooo, you are going to have to recognise that this is a peer support forums where abuse of those trying to help is even less welcome than on a paid support line. Don't expect the people you are abusing to go out of their way to help you.


I'll stand corrected, it a while since I installed Linux into a VM and I'm sure it was an exe that loaded the tools, ah well the grey cells dying off.

I think I also said they where not needed too.
_________________

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Other OS All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast