Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Hostname Question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:07 pm    Post subject: Hostname Question Reply with quote

On my system with Mandrake 10.1 installed, at the shell prompt it displays a prompt of user1@localhost.

I would like to change the hostname so that a name is displayed instead of localhost. I tried a few things, via the Mandrake graphic controls, but seemed to end up with a misconfigured system.

The machine has a static ip address:

% hostname -i
192.168.0.102

I have now edited the /etc/hosts file and added a line so it now looks like:
127.0.0.1 localhost
192.168.0.102 pc2

This seems to work ok, , I get a prompt of user1@pc2, except that when I now boot I get an error message to do with postfix about not being a fully qualified domain name and I need to edit /etc/postfix/main.cf.

Can anyone explain this error and what I should do (it scrolls off of the boot screen so quickly I can't easily read all the information).

Have I changed the name the right way? Is there something else I need to do?
Back to top
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8455
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:26 pm    Post subject: RE: Hostname Question Reply with quote

You need a domain name as well as the host name, something like
Code:
192.168.0.102 pc2.my.lan pc2

This gives if a FQDN of pc2.my.lan and an alias of pc2.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M0PHP
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:40 am
Posts: 737
Location: Bishop Auckland, County Durham, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, what he said Wink

Also, if you don't use postfix (a mail transport agent used for sending email (not required if you just use webmail or your ISP's POP/IMAP mail service)) then you can safely turn it off at startup. And all messages at startup should be sent to /var/log/messages for future reference Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank-you for the replies. I didn't know I could define my own FQDN, I guess I can as it is the local 192.168... address. I had thought that all domain names were things you had to pay for.
Back to top
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8455
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2005 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You only have to pay to register an Internet domain name. On your own LAN, you are in charge and can do what you like.

If it makes you feel better, feel free to charge yourself for a local domain name Smile
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast