Ubuntu will go to base 10 units...

Discussion topics, Linux related - not requests for help

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Ubuntu will go to base 10 units...

Postby Bazza » Sun Mar 28, 2010 10:26 am

Hi all...

Not sure if anyone is interested but........

http://www.neowin.net/news/ubuntu-imple ... re-release
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
User avatar
Bazza
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1483
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Location: Loughborough

Postby Oyster » Sun Mar 28, 2010 10:51 am

Sounds fine to me, as long as it's consistent so people know what they're looking at.
Oyster
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 3:58 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby shinso » Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:40 pm

First the Mac like close, minimise and maximise buttons in 10.4, and now base-10 units like Mac.

I really can't understand why they are doing this.
I meant to do that.
shinso
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:47 pm
Location: UK

Postby nordle » Sun Mar 28, 2010 10:08 pm

I never understood as a kid why the olds had so much trouble with millimeters, centimeters etc Couldn't appreciate the whole decimalisation, shillings etc changes they had to get used to.

"Sweet its going to be a balmy 25c tomorrow"

"What's that in real money?" was the reply.

Well, I guess I'm going to start to have a basic idea of the annoyance.

Then again, its just a case of remembering..... wonder if all the apps, such as the media burning apps, and drive partition apps will all get sorted together....
I think, therefore I compile
User avatar
nordle
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1500
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:56 pm

Postby Rhakios » Sun Mar 28, 2010 10:52 pm

shinso wrote:First the Mac like close, minimise and maximise buttons in 10.4, and now base-10 units like Mac.

I really can't understand why they are doing this.


Made me think of this:

Image
Bye, Rhakios
User avatar
Rhakios
Moderator
 
Posts: 7634
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Midlands, UK

Postby nelz » Mon Mar 29, 2010 12:06 am

I'm not Ubuntu's biggest fan, but they are doing the right thing here. The SI units are defined as powers of 10, not 2, so using k to represent 1024 is corrupting a standard. The current situation, where some use binary and some use decimal units is confusing. To take Nordle's currency analogy, it like some quoting prices with VAT and some without, but not telling you which.

If you want to represent 1024, use the correct prefix, kibi, kilo has been defined as 1000 for hundreds of years. The confusion only arises because this situation was allowed to continue for far too long. All power to Ubuntu for taking a stand on this.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8577
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby shinso » Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:30 am

nelz: I understand, but why base 10?
I meant to do that.
shinso
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:47 pm
Location: UK

Postby nelz » Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:56 am

Because that's what SI metric units have been defined in for hundreds of years. kilo has meant 100 since Adam was a lad, why corrupt it to mean something else because you can't be bothered to think up your own prefix?

How would you feel if your employer decided to make an hour 66 minutes, but still expect you to work the same number of hours for the same pay? What time would you turn up when someone said "see you in half an hour"?
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8577
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby shinso » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:19 am

Hrm it will be interesting to see how this plays out.
I meant to do that.
shinso
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:47 pm
Location: UK

Postby ollie » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:57 am

nelz wrote:... kilo has meant 100 since Adam was a lad ...


:? kilo = 1000 since the late 1600's :wink: but if you want to start your own measuring system that's fine :P

It will just bring storage into line with manufactures' hard drive specifications. Computers have used binary because early computers with valves, and still do today, use electricity to represent everything as on or off. Perhaps this is getting ready for quantum computing :lol:
User avatar
ollie
Moderator
 
Posts: 2749
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 11:26 am
Location: Bathurst NSW Australia

Postby Bazza » Mon Mar 29, 2010 12:06 pm

Hi ollie...

> Perhaps this is getting ready for quantum computing :D

I wonder how many quantum corruptions will occur with
the transition?

;oD
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
User avatar
Bazza
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1483
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Location: Loughborough

Postby gn2 » Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:19 am

shinso wrote:~ why base 10?


Look at your hands, how many digits do you see? :)
User avatar
gn2
LXF regular
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 10:34 pm

Postby nelz » Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:59 am

Ten, which is why I can count to 1023 on them :)
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8577
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby Bazza » Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:20 am

Hi nelz...

> Ten, which is why I can count to 1023 on them :)

ROTFLMAO...
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
User avatar
Bazza
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1483
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Location: Loughborough

Postby shinso » Tue Mar 30, 2010 4:04 pm

gn2 wrote:Look at your hands, how many digits do you see? :)


Yeah but as nelz points out, computers use binary :D

And as crappy as my laptop may be, it doesn't need to use my fingers to count.
I meant to do that.
shinso
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:47 pm
Location: UK

Next

Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests