Updating Vista

Help and discussion about non-Linux operating systems

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Updating Vista

Postby towy71 » Tue Dec 29, 2009 11:04 am

My son-in-law brought his computer down to have everything updated, they don't have broadband, Ubuntu updated in about two hours, Vista has so far taken two days because it has to be rebooted every other minute and I lose heart. The most annoying thing is that because it is usually a stand alone it refuses to keep the wired network connection working after every boot-up :twisted:
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4264
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby Bazza » Tue Dec 29, 2009 11:23 am

Hi towy71...

Oh the pleasures of Windies... ;o)

Let`s hope that it works correctly after that lot...

Just think, all of that extra DRM and disabling code being
added just to satisfy the huge corporations with their
vested interests in the(ir) shareholders...

Undocumented DLL API calls that encrypt the kernel and
its derivatives coupled with bloatware beyond belief just
to make your computing experience that much more
pleasant - NOT... ;'(

Beware the ides of Macroshaft... ;o]
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
User avatar
Bazza
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1476
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Location: Loughborough

Re: Updating Vista

Postby CJLL » Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:36 pm

towy71 wrote:My son-in-law brought his computer down to have everything updated, they don't have broadband, Ubuntu updated in about two hours, Vista has so far taken two days because it has to be rebooted every other minute and I lose heart. The most annoying thing is that because it is usually a stand alone it refuses to keep the wired network connection working after every boot-up :twisted:


I thought Ubuntu was an upgrade for Windos Vista! :wink:
--
The reward for self love is sticky hands
CJLL
LXF regular
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 9:22 pm

Re: Updating Vista

Postby hecatae » Thu Dec 31, 2009 7:54 am

CJLL wrote:
I thought Ubuntu was an upgrade for Windos Vista! :wink:


it is, and the UAC is not as restrictive :lol:
User avatar
hecatae
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:22 pm

Postby Bazza » Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:42 am

Hi towy71...

How`s this for a story...

30-12-2009, 7:30(ish) pm, my daughter says "Can you see
why my laptop takes ages to boot up. Works fine but
takes about 5 minutes or more before I can use it properly."

(It had been like it before she went to UNI so at least or 6
months or more. It has an OEM Vista install - UGH!)

OK darling I will - BAD MOVE!!!

So started to clean up the system with my usual method
of doing a disk check and cold booting etc and noticed
updates were available so I did my usual thing of selecting
the important ones about 20 odd and ignored the SP1,
a 493MB SOAB that would have caused me grief - YEAH!

All went hunky dory, believe it or not, and by about 8:30pm
I had improved the boot time to around 3 minutes.

Then I said to the wife "Shall I finally install the SP1 update".

Of course being a woman and NOT being involved she gave
her blessing...... OH NO!

So proceeded and after about three hours SP1 was installed.

The laptop finally rebooted up and strange, NO sound.

The speaker icon in the tray was off and clicking it, it said
no sound device installed.

Looked at the device manager and the showed the sound
card and details as installed but also no sound device found.

WHAT?!? IT`S EITHER THERE, OR, IT ISN`T - WHICH IS IT???
Is this a case where both TRUE and FALSE exist in boolean
code??? ;o(

So connected to the net I proceeded to update the driver
and - BANG!

Black Screen Of Death - YEP, that`s right BLACK.

After about 5 seconds it reboots only to go into a Black
SOD again just before entering the Welcome screen in
cyclic fashion.

If you ain`t seen that SOAB then you have no idea of what
might have caused it, even the BLUE Screen Of Death gives
summat to "help" you.

Oh boy, panic set in, so after an intravenous drip feed of
concentrated tea I set about the problem.

Finally decided to start up in SAFE MODE and completely
uninstall the sound driver(s) and powered down as normal.

Restarted as normal and WIndies found the "new hardware"
auto-installed all the relevant stuff AND IT WORKED...

WHY? WHAT shite in SP1 made it fail in the first place?

Is this mighty Macroshite, (not of merchantable quality),
OS, REALLY that bad?

But hey, what a sigh of relief once it was going again...

It was now 1:00am 31-12-2009...

5.5 hours af sheer effing hell! :-(
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
User avatar
Bazza
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1476
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Location: Loughborough

Postby towy71 » Thu Dec 31, 2009 1:54 pm

Vista can also lose your DVD drive too, just such utter shite :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:


oops sorry about the bad language
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4264
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby Bazza » Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:00 pm

Hi towy71...

Please NO, don`t tell me that. ;'(

I`d better check it to make doubly sure it is working...

Thanks...
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
User avatar
Bazza
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1476
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Location: Loughborough

Postby towy71 » Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:11 pm

Microparp have a page about it :roll:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314060/en-us
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4264
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby LeeNukes » Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:15 pm

towy71 wrote:Microparp have a page about it :roll:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314060/en-us


Came across that twice which is a high percentage of the Vista machines I've seen.
User avatar
LeeNukes
LXF regular
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 8:11 pm
Location: At the bar

Postby towy71 » Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:20 pm

LeeNukes wrote:Came across that twice which is a high percentage of the Vista machines I've seen.
Yes but it has this list at the bottom of the page :evil:
APPLIES TO
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Windows Vista Business
Windows Vista Business 64-bit Edition
Windows Vista Enterprise
Windows Vista Home Basic
Windows Vista Home Premium
Windows Vista Starter
Windows Vista Ultimate
Windows 7 Enterprise
Windows 7 Home Basic
Windows 7 Home Premium
Windows 7 Professional
Windows 7 Starter
Windows 7 Ultimate


What a great company [ ironic wink]
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4264
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby Bazza » Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:41 pm

PHHEEWWWW, DVD all OK...

Sigh of relief...
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
User avatar
Bazza
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1476
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Location: Loughborough

Postby hecatae » Fri Jan 01, 2010 12:04 pm

compcln.exe ran from the cli will clean up all updates and make them permanent
User avatar
hecatae
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:22 pm

Postby towy71 » Fri Jan 01, 2010 12:08 pm

hecatae wrote:compcln.exe ran from the cli will clean up all updates and make them permanent
formatting the hard drive sorts out all the mess :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4264
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby LeeNukes » Fri Jan 01, 2010 7:53 pm

hecatae wrote:compcln.exe ran from the cli will clean up all updates and make them permanent


Frees up a fair amount of disk space too.
User avatar
LeeNukes
LXF regular
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 8:11 pm
Location: At the bar

Postby Bazza » Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:11 pm

Well to add to the Windows woes...

Last night my daughter`s boyfriend rang up with a problem.
(He`s at Bangor UNI, I`m in Loughborough.)

Vista/HP laptop again...

He installed Skype and BANG; Black Screen Of Death like
mine earlier in this thread. Rebooting failed to work!

I suggested disconnecting all external peripherals, powering
down completely as usual and disconnecting the battery for
at least 5 minutes; refitting the battery and powering up
again and to ring me up with the results. All went well and
he is up and running again... Why, oh why, oh why???

An hour later my daughter rang up, she`s at Chester UNI;
"dad my screen has locked up with pink and blue lines on
screen". Again, Vista/HP laptop combo... To cut a long story
short I told her to do the same as above and hers re-appeared
as normal again... Why, oh why, oh why???

<shrugs>
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
User avatar
Bazza
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1476
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Location: Loughborough

Next

Return to Other OS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron