Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Another WIndows 7 question...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Other OS
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bazza
LXF regular


Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Posts: 1474
Location: Loughborough

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:06 pm    Post subject: Another WIndows 7 question... Reply with quote

This is probably in towy71`s or ollie`s domain...

OS == Windows 7 64 bit ONLY, any version...

(Don`t bother with the 32 bit versions.)

Can you guys do this quick test for me...

Assumption, DEBUG.EXE still exists in W7 64 bit...

Open up a STANDARD CLI, (Command Prompt), window.

Type DEBUG.EXE[RETURN/ENTER]

When running type:-

d0:417[RETURN/ENTER]

Note down the FIRST value as shown in the HEX dump.

Now press CAPS LOCK to enable the caps lock.

Type the same as above:-

d0:417[RETURN/ENTER]

Note down this value again and exit DEBUG.EXE by
typing:-

q[RETURN/ENTER]

Exit the CLI as normal...

Post the two values on here please...

Assuming it works as expected I`ll know what they mean.

If DEBUG.EXE does not exist or execute then let me know
that too...

TIA to anyone who replies...
_________________
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marrea
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:32 pm
Posts: 1873
Location: Chilterns, West Hertfordshire

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Bazza

I have no idea what debug.exe is but it doesn't seem to exist in Windows 7 64 bit. This is the result I got from running DEBUG.EXE

‘DEBUG.EXE’ is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bazza
LXF regular


Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Posts: 1474
Location: Loughborough

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Marrea...

Thanks for that.

I did expect that result as DEBUG.EXE is 16 bit code and
64 bit OS can`t run 16 bit code directly. It has to run via
XP emulation mode...

Again many thanks for your time...

I`ll have to look laterally at what I want to do...
_________________
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marrea
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:32 pm
Posts: 1873
Location: Chilterns, West Hertfordshire

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bazza wrote:

Again many thanks for your time...

No prob, only took a second as I happened to be in Windows at the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
towy71
Moderator


Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 3:11 pm
Posts: 4259
Location: wild West Wales

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Another WIndows 7 question... Reply with quote

Bazza wrote:
This is probably in towy71`s or ollie`s domain...
I can't speak for ollie but I don't have windows 7 and very seldom use any of the older versions either, I stopped helping people with windoze last year Wink
_________________
still looking for that door into summer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bazza
LXF regular


Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Posts: 1474
Location: Loughborough

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again...

Another question about Windows 7, 64 bit only again...

Does the default Command Prompt have the "CLS" command,
(resident or transient).

TIA guys...
_________________
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobthebob1234
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:38 pm
Posts: 1369
Location: A hole in a field

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my win 7 64-bit virtual machine I get the same results for debug and yes cls (clear screen) still works.
_________________
For certain you have to be lost to find the places that can't be found. Elseways, everyone would know where it was
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bazza
LXF regular


Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Posts: 1474
Location: Loughborough

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi btb...

Thanks that`s all I wanted to know... :)
_________________
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Other OS All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast