Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sound drivers and hardware scans. Solved.
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Weatherlawyer



Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:24 pm
Posts: 54
Location: Stoke on Trent, England.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:02 am    Post subject: Sound drivers and hardware scans. Solved. Reply with quote

What application do I need to see what motherboard I am using?

I did a test of my computer before upgrading that showed me what was and what wasn't OK.

I have no idea where it is now with Ubuntu 11.4.

I need a sound driver. Presumably I'll be OK with Avrak until this get sorted. Or is there a more Linux friendly driver out there waiting in the dark?
_________________
I would very much like to be nice. If this is not your day, I am sorry about that.


Last edited by Weatherlawyer on Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:30 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rhakios
Moderator


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:18 am
Posts: 7604
Location: Midlands, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the easiest way to find out what motherboard I have is to open the case and have a look (it might also be reported in the BIOS, I don't remember).
If you just want to find out what sound card you have, then just do:
lspci | grep -i audio

For example, this gives me:

Code:

rhakios@pythia:~$ lspci | grep -i audio
00:05.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)


Which is enough information for the basis of a search.

Edit: programs like hwinfo, tend to give a lot more detail, without it necessarily being of much use, for example, it gives a system board identifier for my PC, but doesn't tell me the exact model.
_________________
Bye, Rhakios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MessedUpHare



Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:33 pm
Posts: 10
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you could use dmidecode to find what the motherboard is saying it is... you havto run it as root, though...
Code:
# dmidecode -t 2
[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rhakios
Moderator


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:18 am
Posts: 7604
Location: Midlands, UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For me, that only gives to same info as hwinfo, i.e. not the motherboard's full product name.
_________________
Bye, Rhakios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weatherlawyer



Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:24 pm
Posts: 54
Location: Stoke on Trent, England.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That just about sums up what is wrong wioth Linux.

Most Windows users expect to find a programme they just need to click on and the computer does the rest.

I don't have a clue how to use the command line. All the replies for help here require I learn.
_________________
I would very much like to be nice. If this is not your day, I am sorry about that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
towy71
Moderator


Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 3:11 pm
Posts: 4243
Location: wild West Wales

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weatherlawyer wrote:
Most Windows users expect to find a programme they just need to click on and the computer does the rest.
I'm fairly sure there isn't a Windows program that would properly identify the motherboard, and definitely Windows will not have bundled drivers for most hardware Rolling Eyes
_________________
still looking for that door into summer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ram
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 1661
Location: Guisborough

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weatherlawyer wrote:
That just about sums up what is wrong wioth Linux.

Most Windows users expect to find a programme they just need to click on and the computer does the rest.

I don't have a clue how to use the command line. All the replies for help here require I learn.


There's nothing wrong with Linux.

I use the command line a lot in Windows to launch programmes.

That's your bad, your never to old to learn.
_________________

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8375
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need to learn anything, or even type anything. Open a terminal then copy and paste the command from the reply. Maybe three mouse clicks, which is quicker than doing it with most GUI programs.

The command line is an advantage to be embraced, not a foreign land full of dragons.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
towy71
Moderator


Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 3:11 pm
Posts: 4243
Location: wild West Wales

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nelz wrote:
The command line is an advantage to be embraced, not a foreign land full of dragons.
True, but it is still powerful enough to bite you on the derrière Wink Rolling Eyes
_________________
still looking for that door into summer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular


Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 11:41 pm
Posts: 3422
Location: Birmingham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Answering questions with a single line command that can be cut and pasted into a terminal is easier than writing half a page of "click this, select that" descriptions.
Actually, you often see that on windows forums as well, as most programs and config tools can be launched from the command line.
In fact there are some tools in windows that only work properly from the CLI. Shocked
_________________
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8375
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And you can hurt yourself with a GUI?
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular


Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 11:41 pm
Posts: 3422
Location: Birmingham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Of course you can.

If you do not continue, the application will not be completely installed, and may not function correctly.
Do you not want to continue?

Yes no
_________________
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MessedUpHare



Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:33 pm
Posts: 10
Location: London

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally, I find hardware issues in windows harder to deal with - especially if the owner has inadvertently installed the wrong driver, the machine can report incorrectly...

Anyhoo, Windows/Linux arguments are fairly dull..

I'm kind of out of ideas with regards to polling the mainboard... Beyond the previously mentioned checking the physical board...

Sorry to dissapoint
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8375
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That was meant to be a rhetorical question, which would have been clear had I typed can't instead of can Sad
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ram
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 1661
Location: Guisborough

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rhakios wrote:
For me, that only gives to same info as hwinfo, i.e. not the motherboard's full product name.


Pretty darn close for me.

# dmidecode 2.9
SMBIOS 2.5 present.

Handle 0x0002, DMI type 2, 15 bytes
Base Board Information
Manufacturer: ASUSTeK Computer INC.
Product Name: Crosshair III Formula
Version: Rev 1.xx

Serial Number: 102426410000199
Asset Tag: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
Features:
Board is a hosting board
Board is replaceable
Location In Chassis: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
Chassis Handle: 0x0003
Type: Motherboard
Contained Object Handles: 0
_________________

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast