Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

can't use second drive (SOLVED)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
heiowge
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:21 pm
Posts: 1904
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 2:53 pm    Post subject: can't use second drive (SOLVED) Reply with quote

I've added a 2nd hard disc. Both the new one and the original are seagate 500gb drives.

It appears in dolphin, but I can't seem to do anything with it. I wanted to back up my files, but the paste option is greyed out.

Any suggestions?
_________________
i5 4440 3.1Ghz, Asus H87M-E motherboard, 8GB DDR3, 2GB DDR5 nVidia card, 2x500GB Seagate hd, Coolermaster 750W PSU running Mint 16 MATE and Win7

eeepc 1015PX, 1.66 Ghz Intel atom processor, 2 GB DDR3, 320 GB hd, Mint 14 MATE. Fan needs fixing.


Last edited by heiowge on Fri Sep 28, 2012 10:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
el chapulín



Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:13 pm
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like a permissions problem. By default *nix system don't just mount a hard disk drive assuming that all users should be able to write to it. Ensure that you've set the mount options correctly in /etc/fstab
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heiowge
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:21 pm
Posts: 1904
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. Now how do I fix it? Laughing
_________________
i5 4440 3.1Ghz, Asus H87M-E motherboard, 8GB DDR3, 2GB DDR5 nVidia card, 2x500GB Seagate hd, Coolermaster 750W PSU running Mint 16 MATE and Win7

eeepc 1015PX, 1.66 Ghz Intel atom processor, 2 GB DDR3, 320 GB hd, Mint 14 MATE. Fan needs fixing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
towy71
Moderator


Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 3:11 pm
Posts: 4262
Location: wild West Wales

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

use the "disk utility"
_________________
still looking for that door into summer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8466
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't use mount options to set permissions on *nix filesystems, the filesystem ccontains its own ownership details, and the root of it is owned by the user that created it, which has to be root. On a single user system, all you need to do is moutn the drive then do

Code:
sudo chown youruser: /mount/point


It must be mounted when you do this, you are setting ownership of the root of the filesystem, not the mount point. Once you have done this it will be owned by your user wherever you mount it.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heiowge
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:21 pm
Posts: 1904
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info. I logged on here to say I'd fixed it, but thanks anyway.

I needed to do a reinstall, and I found I could set custom mount points, so I set it to:

/media/seconddrive

Then I opened it with admin rights, added my user and set permissions through Nautilus.
_________________
i5 4440 3.1Ghz, Asus H87M-E motherboard, 8GB DDR3, 2GB DDR5 nVidia card, 2x500GB Seagate hd, Coolermaster 750W PSU running Mint 16 MATE and Win7

eeepc 1015PX, 1.66 Ghz Intel atom processor, 2 GB DDR3, 320 GB hd, Mint 14 MATE. Fan needs fixing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nuke
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:11 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Chepstow, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am just being picky, but /media is not meant to be a mount point for hard drives. It is meant for the ad hoc mounting of the wide variety of portable media such as CD's, Floppies, external HDs, USB sticks, cameras, digital picture frames, etc.

/mnt is meant for the more fixed things such as other PCs on the network and any internal HDs which are not usually mounted (such as for archiving), and to mount internal HDs temporarily when using a recovery distro.

For a permanently mounted internal HD, it should just be part of the main tree, not through /media or /mnt any more that your first HD is. Unlike a Windows environment, there is no need to be normally conscious of it being a second HD. I have three internal HDs and mount them as something like /home/nuke/data1, ~/data2 etc. [actually it is more complex than that as each HD has four partitions, so I also have mount points like ~/archive, ~/copy_of_my_laptop_home, /windows_XP and /windows_games]
_________________
Unsolved mysteries of the Universe, No 13 :-
How many remakes of Anna Karenina does the World need?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ram
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 1674
Location: Guisborough

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you use /media to mount the drive it is then visible to all users on their desktops without doing anything else.
_________________

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8466
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ram wrote:
if you use /media to mount the drive it is then visible to all users on their desktops without doing anything else.


The same is true of /mnt. /media is intended for removable devices, particularly automounted ones.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ram
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 1674
Location: Guisborough

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nelz wrote:
Ram wrote:
if you use /media to mount the drive it is then visible to all users on their desktops without doing anything else.


The same is true of /mnt. /media is intended for removable devices, particularly automounted ones.


With /mnt you usually have to do extra work to display them on the desktop automatically where /media as you say is meant for removable devices but if used just displays them on the desktop.

I've got nfs shares, some in /mnt I have to navigate to them. Some in /media already waiting on the desktop to use once logged in. Just something I found by accident.
_________________

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
el chapulín



Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:13 pm
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nelz wrote:
You don't use mount options to set permissions on *nix filesystems[etc]

I, perhaps wrongly assumed, it was an NTFS volume, the OP dual boots with windows and didn't specify either way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8466
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ram wrote:
With /mnt you usually have to do extra work to display them on the desktop automatically where /media as you say is meant for removable devices but if used just displays them on the desktop.


I expect that depends on your desktop. KDE allows you to specify which are displayed, but I don't use desktop icons so it doesn't affect me.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ram
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 1674
Location: Guisborough

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nelz wrote:
Ram wrote:
With /mnt you usually have to do extra work to display them on the desktop automatically where /media as you say is meant for removable devices but if used just displays them on the desktop.


I expect that depends on your desktop. KDE allows you to specify which are displayed, but I don't use desktop icons so it doesn't affect me.


Using gnome, no option I've seen, like that of kde. As I said that's an additional step albeit a small one.
_________________

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast