One more time.

Non-computer-related chit-chat

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

One more time.

Postby desertranger » Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:10 pm

Maybe it will be different this time, but I think not. Please let me explain as there is a reason for this. This is kind of long for a first post I would appreciate your taking the time.

Start with Momma always said,"Never enter someone else's home with out a proper introduction." She also use to say, "Mannerless dogs are not allowed in the house." More on this later.

My name is "Ranger" Steve. I am a Vietnam vet and was a tribal-ranger (TR) for a tribe of Native America.Indians in the American desert southwest. I also ran an eco-tour and adventure guide service into the desert, a place that is still considered cowboy country in many respects and can be a very hostile environment. A number of years ago I became disabled that severely limits me physically to what I can do. Believe me this is not something you chose to do.

On the other side of the I'm also somewhat of a geek with have multiple degrees in the sciences and engineering. Been in computerssince the days of the S-100 system and CPM. That's pre Apple.

"Why are you telling us this?" Several reasons. Mostly because of my perceived attitude. While on most forums it is welcomed on Linux forums people take offense where none is offered and I get kicked off. When I saw all the warnings in red here I thought an explanation was in order.

Example, I'm building a different sort of server under Precise. The idea came to me when I saw Precise server come up with a Unity GUI. That prompted me to ask several questions on a Linux forum about server design and a few other things. What I got back was (paraphrased):
Why are you doing that; servers run headless?
there is no point to what your doing start with a complete install and strip out what you don't want
and finally start with a minimal system and build from there.