Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Internet Speed

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Narendra
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:32 pm
Posts: 323
Location: East Midlands, UK.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:56 pm    Post subject: Internet Speed Reply with quote

Hello,
I connect to the internet with the Virgin Media's Super Hub at 60Mb and I have tested the speed with the Speedtest.net and it is correct.
And I connect to the other computer with Ethernet Plugs(Wired network connection), but the speed on that computer is only 20Mb.
I have run the virus check and it is all clear.

Please advise why is that so and how do I rectify it.

Thank you.
_________________
Narendra
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ram
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 1671
Location: Guisborough

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Think that is just the limitation of the plug you're using.
_________________

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Narendra
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:32 pm
Posts: 323
Location: East Midlands, UK.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much for your reply.

But this problem has occurred in last few days, when the internet on the other computer started getting slower!
_________________
Narendra
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8457
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Swap the ethernet cables over, it could be a failing cable.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narendra
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:32 pm
Posts: 323
Location: East Midlands, UK.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They are

Max Value 85 Mbps Home Plug Double Unit Pack,

I'll swap the cables over but could it be the electric wiring in the house, from one plug to another?
_________________
Narendra
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8457
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, you didn't say you were using Powerline. That could be anything from failing hardware to interference from a neighbour's fridge.

If you are concerned about speed, you shouldn't be using Powerline, especially the old 85Mbps hardware.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narendra
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:32 pm
Posts: 323
Location: East Midlands, UK.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I remove the plugs, what type of cable do I need to use? The distance between them is about 10 meters.
Do I need adaptor if I go wireless, for a host computer which already has super hub?
_________________
Narendra
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PCNetSpec
LXF regular


Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:50 pm
Posts: 631
Location: Cornwall UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

10m is well within the (standard) 100m cable segment limit for Cat5e UTP Smile
(I personally don't agree with the 100m limit and would use a switch or repeater at 50m .. indeed I've seen signals on UTP fail at much shorter lengths in noisy environments)

Keep them as short as possible, extra UTP cable specially if it is looped is an antenna for electromagnetic interference.
(all cabling is to an extent) .. so measure then buy, don't just get a 20m patch cable if a 10m will do.

If you're going to need to run it past any strong electromagnetic fields (fridges, large speakers, large electric motors, etc.) .. get shielded cable.

But at 10m, and in a "home" environment .. Cat5e UTP is usually sufficient.
_________________
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'... logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
Linux in the UK
The Linux Community Forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnhudson
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:37 pm
Posts: 870

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

85mbps is insufficient; you probably need 500mbps to be sure you get the benefit of superfast broadband. 85mbps is barely enough to deal with Virgin Media's lowest speed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catgate
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:45 pm
Posts: 1037
Location: Just over there, in that corner.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is not without some significance that Solwise have discontinued their 85 Mbps Home Plug Units.

They were adequate here out in the sticks, where a download speed of 0.5Mbps is described as "acceptable" by BT!
_________________
Oh, sod it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narendra
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:32 pm
Posts: 323
Location: East Midlands, UK.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much for your replies.
I won't need the plugs now! Have removed them as advised.
Have set up the other computer on wireless, its working fine, at its normal speed of 60Mb!
Thank you again.
_________________
Narendra
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narendra
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:32 pm
Posts: 323
Location: East Midlands, UK.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://tinyurl.com/ka9hqg6

Please refer to the above link, says the speed can be faster, any good? Not tried it myself before confirming it with the forum!
Thank you.
_________________
Narendra
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ajgreeny
LXF regular


Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 9:18 pm
Posts: 452
Location: Oxfordshire.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried out the ideas at that tinyurl site and it has made no difference at all to speed of downloads or uploads, so I've reverted again.
_________________
Xubuntu 12.04 user, and loving it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast