HDTV DVB-T2 cards and MythTV

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

HDTV DVB-T2 cards and MythTV

Postby wyliecoyoteuk » Wed Jun 11, 2014 10:26 am

Has anybody on here used HDTV PCIe cards with MythTV?
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
User avatar
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:41 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Postby nelz » Wed Jun 11, 2014 10:40 am

I've been using one for a number of years, it's a TBS 6280. Driver installation is a bit of a pain because they are out of kernel drivers. The only other DVB-T2 card I tried also used out of kernel drivers. I'd be interested in finding a kernel-supported card.

Apart from the driver issue, the card works very well.

http://linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/TBS6280
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8497
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby wyliecoyoteuk » Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:33 am

How about encrypted content?
I have been told that some freeview channels are encrypted. Is that a problem with the main ones?
(BBC,ITV,CH4 etc)
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
User avatar
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:41 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Postby nelz » Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:43 am

AFAIK the only encrypted ones are those that need a subscription, like UK Gold and the ones that only broadcast after midnight :wink:

The mainstream channels all work fine.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8497
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby wyliecoyoteuk » Thu Jun 12, 2014 9:12 am

Not a problem for me then ;)
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
User avatar
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:41 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Postby Ram » Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:29 pm

wyliecoyoteuk wrote:Not a problem for me then ;)


In bed by midnight then :P

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby nelz » Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:09 pm

That's why he needs to record :D
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8497
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby wyliecoyoteuk » Tue Jul 01, 2014 7:42 pm

Nelz, what sort of CPU do you use with the TBS card?
I have installed it ina min-itx with a Kabini quad core APU, but I am having some issues with stutter on HD.
I have ordered a new case with room for a low profile card instead of using a ribbon cable riser.
Would the catalyst drivers cure that do you think?
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
User avatar
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:41 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Postby nelz » Tue Jul 01, 2014 9:40 pm

It's an old Core2duo chips, but the box is a backend only, stuffed full of tuners and hard rives and in a place where the noise doesn't matter. The front end in my lounge is a Nettop, also a few years old, running the Nvidia graphics drivers on an Ion chipset, playback is stutter-free.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8497
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby wyliecoyoteuk » Wed Jul 02, 2014 6:11 am

For some reason the 6280 specifies 2.6ghz multicore processor.
I thought that the offload to the gpu on the kabini would mean it would be ok, even though it was only 2.05ghz
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
User avatar
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:41 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Postby nelz » Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:09 am

That's probably a requirement of the Windows software. All the card is doing is demuxing the DVD stream and dumping it to disk. The real CPU work is in decoding and plating that stream. The CPU on my backend, running the 6280 plus a couple of DVD-T cards, is

Code: Select all
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 15
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 15
model name      : Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual  CPU  E2200  @ 2.20GHz
stepping        : 13
cpu MHz         : 2203.000
cache size      : 1024 KB


Hardly cutting edge.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8497
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby wyliecoyoteuk » Wed Jul 02, 2014 3:28 pm

Thanks.
The Kabini is 2.05GHz, Quad core, with a Radeon R3 8400 GPU builtin, I put in 4GB of low latency ram, so I thought it should handle it.

TDP is 25W!


And they are cheap, cpu + motherboard came to £65
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
User avatar
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:41 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Postby wyliecoyoteuk » Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:41 am

Applied the proprietary Catalyst drivers, HD smooth now :)

Just for info, also works well with Win8.1 and the LAV codecs (doing a Windows article for another mag).

so it looks like you were right.
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
User avatar
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:41 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests