Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

KeePassX auto-type problems

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mountainriverlocal



Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:54 am
Posts: 9
Location: Huon Valley Tasmania

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:02 am    Post subject: KeePassX auto-type problems Reply with quote

How many out there using KeePassX? I have been using it for some
time however I'm not getting the best out of it.
For me the auto-type feature is a winner but I struggle to get it working on some sites.
When a login is on one page I sometimes get the auto-type working (and what a joy to use) but on some sites eg Gmail uses a 2 page sequence and nothing I try will work.
I have been doing a lot of searches but the info is fragmented and I can't always interpret the results. I am sixty and a latecomer to computing so please be gentle!
Happily using Mint 13 on a Dell Optiplex 755.
Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
purplepenguin
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:19 pm
Posts: 121
Location: Blissfully at the Command Line

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been using KeepassX for about 6 months. I never noticed the auto-type till I read your message, cheers for that. Just tested it with Gmail and it has worked fine for me. Maybe just a fluke. I had to make sure that Google didn't already have the email address field completed. Tested with 2 different accounts.

What other sites are not working for you? If I have an account there too I could test some more.

What version of KPX are your on? I've got 0.4.3

PP
_________________
Debian Testing 64bit KDE i5 CPU 8GB RAM

Firefox 29 wont let me move the Reload and Back buttons. It's my computer Mozilla not yours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mountainriverlocal



Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:54 am
Posts: 9
Location: Huon Valley Tasmania

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the rapid reply purplepenguin, I am humbled.
Firstly I also am using 0.4.3. Should have mentioned that already ha ha.
The thing with Gmail is that until recently, it presented as a simple web page with username and login fields blank and with that I could get auto-type running.

Now when I access the log-in page it presents a list of accounts (three in this instance).
It does this in Firefox and Opera on my machine.
{TAB}{ENTER} gets it past that page but after that nothing works. Obviously some specific requests have to be entered but with my limited experience, nothing has worked yet.

I have other questions re this function on certain pages but will stick to solving things one at a time otherwise complications will arise I am sure.

I just had a thought while typing : that particular 'improvement' in the home page would be something that Gmail would be doing in my browser, it must have tweaked the browsers itself to behave like that. Can I untweak it?

Regards

Mark.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8457
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try clearing out any cookies related to Google.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mountainriverlocal



Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:54 am
Posts: 9
Location: Huon Valley Tasmania

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks nelz, following your advice, a good dig around behind the Operatic scenes and bingo! the auto-type function has been made to work in its elegant fashion.

That really does give me a boost when some kind mentor on the other side of the world can give me a nudge in the right direction. Again, thanks.
Now, did I mention there was more?

On one banking I use site there are three fields to complete before hitting enter - what comments are used to achieve this? The KPX appears to have only two.

Regards
Mark.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
purplepenguin
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:19 pm
Posts: 121
Location: Blissfully at the Command Line

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Be aware that your browser will probably store the cookies again, once you've logged back in. Firefox will delete all cookies after each session if you change it's preferences I'm not sure if Chrome has similar settings.

As for your banking site. It doesn’t look as though KPX can cope with three input fields. I have the three field authentication on my share dealing site.
_________________
Debian Testing 64bit KDE i5 CPU 8GB RAM

Firefox 29 wont let me move the Reload and Back buttons. It's my computer Mozilla not yours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8457
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KeePass 2.x for Windows can have custom placeholders defined, but KeePassX 2.0 is still in alpha. You could try building it from source to see it this does what you want, but backup your database first.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mountainriverlocal



Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:54 am
Posts: 9
Location: Huon Valley Tasmania

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks nelz and purplepenguin. Yes it seems as though KPX can't deal with more than two input fields so that is the end of that scenario for the time being. Might stop me doing the same thing over and over again expecting different results!

As for the cookies, I use Opera for these sites requiring a log-in and have pretty much disabled the cookie collection, Firefox is used for all other browsing.

One site which I have also found trouble with is logging in to LXF. It looks simple enough but I have no luck with it. Any chance of a copy of the auto-type sequence which works its magic on this one?

In advance I thank you for your patience.

Regards

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8457
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not that it can't handle more than two input fields, only that the current release only supports two placeholder fields, username and password. The latest version allows you to create extra placeholders, so you can complete as many input fields as you need.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
purplepenguin
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:19 pm
Posts: 121
Location: Blissfully at the Command Line

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nelz wrote:
It's not that it can't handle more than two input fields, only that the current release only supports two placeholder fields, username and password. The latest version allows you to create extra placeholders, so you can complete as many input fields as you need.


Hey Nelz

Is this the alpha release you mentioned above? If so I'll have a go at building it over the weekend. Seems like a good candidate for my first build.

@mountainriverlocal

Try clicking on the first input field before using autotype. Works here.
_________________
Debian Testing 64bit KDE i5 CPU 8GB RAM

Firefox 29 wont let me move the Reload and Back buttons. It's my computer Mozilla not yours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8457
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I've not tried it but KeePass 2.0 supports extra placeholders and KeePassX is supposed to be compatible, so give it a go.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8457
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just installed 2.0 alpha5 and it does allow you to add custom placeholders. or attributes as it calls them.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mountainriverlocal



Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:54 am
Posts: 9
Location: Huon Valley Tasmania

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks purplepenguin, the cursor gambit allows the auto-type to work on the LXF site. That's tidied another one up.

Regards

Mark.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mountainriverlocal



Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:54 am
Posts: 9
Location: Huon Valley Tasmania

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought I should post a reply to thank nelz and purplepenguin for their input on this topic.

This info has helped me out nicely so far.

I have been looking at KeePass 2 but just for fiddling if you know what I mean. Gets a bit involved for an old boy like me.

One last thing for now, any idea how one would treat a bank website where the password in entered via mouse and keyboard?

Regards

Mark.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast