Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

FC2 stuck at Grub

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Guest
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:03 pm    Post subject: FC2 stuck at Grub Reply with quote

I am trying to install FC2 as a Samba server for the Win98/ME boxes in my workshop. FC2 from the LinuxFormat dvd last year. During installation no messages of anything unusal, but after rebooting it comes to a halt at Grub. Stuck, only the word Grub. Not possible to write anything. I have tried twice with the same result.
System P2 300, 256 RAM, Drives 3G for the system and 80G for the files.
Only installing X - KDE - Samba server pluss some minor packages. No mail, internet, firewall nor office packages. Trying to keep it as simple as possible.

I started with Suse Server 9.0 but it started installing the whole linux world and uninstalling packages under Linus is not that simple. Resulted in an unstable system.

So far I am near to concluding Linux as non-productive.
Back to top
towy71
Moderator


Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 3:11 pm
Posts: 4258
Location: wild West Wales

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:26 pm    Post subject: RE: FC2 stuck at Grub Reply with quote

have you tried one of the Debian based distros?
Mepis seems pretty easy to set up like that and with synaptic you can add/remove packages!
HTH
Dick
_________________
still looking for that door into summer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jjmac
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:32 am
Posts: 1996
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 1:40 pm    Post subject: RE: FC2 stuck at Grub Reply with quote

>>
During installation no messages of anything unusal, but after rebooting it comes to a halt at Grub.
>>

Use a LiveCD like Knoppix or whatever is handy, mount the partition and check on your Grub set up. It probably just hasn't been set up. There will be some html's with the package that describe the required syntax. Basically it just involves referencing what ever you want available to boot in a config file. Probably to be found in the /boot directory hanging off your main trunk.

>>
I am trying to install FC2 as a Samba server for the Win98/ME boxes in my workshop.
.
.
.
Only installing X - KDE - Samba server pluss some minor packages. No mail, internet, firewall nor office packages. Trying to keep it as simple as possible.
>>

Installing a firewalling package wouldn't hurt Smile. The kenel has an excellent, almost inbuilt facility called "iptables" implemented by a module set called "netfilter". They should be available as a package install. If not you should find a rpm at www.netfilter.org to suit. Most people will use one of the various gui front ends ("guarddog", others ?) to do the required configuration, so it's not a major science project or anything like that really.

If Grub is actually configured properly .... can't remember it's name off hand but it should be in the /boot directory, or in /etc. Look for something named approprietly, or with the word "list" in it's name ... and dump it here.

I figure it's hopefully probably just something like that, RH distros are usually fairly straight forward.

jm
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Code:


  Notice how our planet, is the only one in the solar system,
                             thats named after dirt !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ram
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 1668
Location: Guisborough

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:43 pm    Post subject: RE: FC2 stuck at Grub Reply with quote

Also check your BIOS,
I take it that the 3g is the master and the 80g the slave, is that reflected in the BIOS. This is relavent if Linux as been install on either drives before you may have the loader on the non master drives MBR hence it trying to run a non existant OS from the previous installation and the stopping.

Ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
dandnsmith
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:01 am
Posts: 308
Location: Berks, UK

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 12:07 pm    Post subject: RE: FC2 stuck at Grub Reply with quote

1. the config file(s) is (are) in /boot/grub, and you want grub.conf which may be pointed to by menu.lst

2. If GRUB was on the MBR of the slave drive, it could only get activated if there were no boot partition on the master (and the system bios is prepared to boot from it.

Just getting the GRUB prompt sounds like a messed up installation which has the MBR code, but no pointer to the stage2 code...
_________________
Derek
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast