Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Any one using assembler, I have problem installing the files

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bjsv

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:37 pm    Post subject: Any one using assembler, I have problem installing the files Reply with quote

Hi. I wan't to use an assembler to make programs, but having difficulties make them work or installing. (I'm new to Linux)

I've tried many from http://webster.cs.ucr.edu/AsmTools/ that supports Linux. (HLA,NASM,FASM)

With the HLA I can't figure out the instalation process at
http://webster.cs.ucr.edu/AsmTools/HLA/HLADoc/HLARef/HLARef11.html#1035885
there's something about the .bashrc file that are not the same at my comuter as in this document.

With the FASM
I read the fasm.txt(It's for dos) and do what it says:

[bjsv@062249163244 fasm]$ fasm fasm.txt
bash: fasm: command not found

[bjsv@062249163244 fasm]$ fasm '/home/bjsv/Desktop/fasm/examples/elfexe/hello.asm'
bash: fasm: command not found

The Nasm
i installed the rpm the right way I think, and found the program and type as in the http://webster.cs.ucr.edu/AsmTools/NASM/Doc/NASMDOC1.HTM#section-1.3.2 says

[root@062249163244 bin]# nasm -f elf myfile.asm
nasm: fatal: unable to open input file `myfile.asm'

What's wrong, is there something I do wrong.
(I've encounter many problems installing other software as well. I just follow what's in the install file)
Nigel
LXF regular

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 8:42 pm    Post subject: RE: Any one using assembler, I have problem installing the f Reply with quote