Acer flatscreen AL511

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Acer flatscreen AL511

Postby Lancer » Sun May 01, 2005 2:01 am

I'm setting up a computer for a complete newbie (using Fedora Core 2) and couriering it to them accross the country. The box has an Nvidia pro card and they have told me their screen is an ACER AL511 flatscreen.

Basically, if I set up the monitor etc to suit my hardware, a "detected hardware" change at their end will effectively uninstall Nvidia drivers. I therefore want to set the monitor up to correct settings for tehir monitor just before sh8ipping the box off to them, so it will just work straight away to their system.

Problem: Under display config, there are lots of Acer monitors, but no AL511. I know that they are likely cross compatable, but some will not be, and I don't want to pick the wrong one in it causes grief to this complete newbie at the other end. I certainly don't want it to run diagonal lines, bad flicker or too low res for their hardware.

Anyone else here using Fedora Linux with an Acer AL511 ? If so, can you please let me know which monitor is chosen in your display hardware settings?
Lancer
LXF regular

RE: Acer flatscreen AL511

Postby linuxgirlie » Sun May 01, 2005 8:24 am

Is that flatscreen as in flatscreen CRT or as in TFT?!? I have heard people call TFT's flat screens....
My knowledge comes with no warranty...........

Server operating system designed for schools:http://www.linuxschools.com
linuxgirlie
LXF regular

Postby Guest » Sun May 01, 2005 8:49 am

I wouldn't know that, given that I haven't seen it. I've only ever emailed and a few times actually 'phoned this guy some time back (pricey toll call). A google on ACER 511 gives me this model: http://www.superwarehouse.com/Acer_AL51 ... 7/p/234348
...which is not listed among the ones in Display options (hence - who else using Fedora knows the equivalent?)