Music Collection

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Music Collection

Postby Hambo » Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:43 am

Hey everyone.

I just installed Fedore core 4 on my comp today. Im a complete noobie to Linux (I gotta say though, I'm impressed allready!) and I wanted to know if I could get my mp3 collection off the Windows partition on my hard drive and put it on the Linux partition. Would it be compatible with Linux? And if so, how do I go about copying it over...the Windows partition doesn't seem to show up in the file explorer.

Thanks in advance.

Hambo
Hambo

RE: Music Collection

Postby shifty_ben » Mon Jan 16, 2006 1:33 pm

First thing is what file system was windows using? if it was NTFS then you need an additional module. Once its copied over then yes your Mp3s will play quite happily.
Need a New Signature
shifty_ben
LXF regular

Postby Hambo » Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:19 pm

Yes, the Filesystem was NTFS. What module do I have to install?

Thanks!
Hambo

Postby shifty_ben » Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:31 pm

I may be wrong but I believe you can get it from here http://www.linux-ntfs.org/

Install that and you should be able to read your partition *once you have mounted it*
Ive never quite gotten my head around why Fedora and Red Hat seem to exclude that module as standard.
If you feel confident doing it from source and recompiling your Kernel then I personally would say thats the best way to do it. You may find it easier to use an RPM though, the site should have plenty more information on it
Need a New Signature
shifty_ben
LXF regular

Postby Flea » Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:46 pm

No, your mp3's are not going to play because Fedora does not ship with mp3 support for "legal" reasons (whatever that means)

Have a look here in order to resolve this.

good luck,

Dave.
The question is, what is a mahnamahna?
The question is, who cares?
Flea
LXF regular

Postby Hambo » Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:55 pm

Okay, thankyou for your help.