Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Linux as a business desktop
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jaluka

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 7:53 am    Post subject: Linux as a business desktop Reply with quote

I am a systems engineer for a large manufacturer of network equipment. My specilisation is in network and systems security and so I originally installed Linux as a second bootable partition on my corporate laptop in order to use the vast range of security tools available. Over time however I started using it more and more and since loading Crossover office and using Evolution connector I very seldom boot into Windows. I have now used it (Fedora Core 3) as my primary system for over a year and have had negligible issues with it. Apart from a few bug bears such as the inability to use my Vodfone GPRS card and sync up with my blackberry it has been superbly stable and whats more absolutely secure. Whilst my collegues have been beset with the normal range of Windows problems that keep our internal IT staff in a job, I simply just coast from day to day.

I am trying to convince our internal IT to consider it as a viable alternative and would like to hear from anyone who has had a similar experience. I am not interested in home use, as clearly it has a large following here, only business use.

Thanks
jaluka

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote