Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Which PDA? (SOLVED)

View previous topic :: View next topic  
GMorgan
LXF regular

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 5:03 pm    Post subject: Which PDA? (SOLVED) Reply with quote

I'm going back to university next year (Computer Science) and I'm thinking about getting a PDA. The thing is I have no experience whatsoever with them so thought I'd post here and try and get some feedback. Anyway here goes.

It has to:
-Sync with Linux - I will be doing most of my work in Linux so thats crucial.
-Be compatible with .pdf, .html and .chm files. I currently have a number of ebooks in this format and hope to be able to use them with the PDA. Hopefully I will be able to get a lot of the course as ebooks. If anyone knows of any other formats I should look at for compatibility please tell me.
-Have all the normal stuff taken for granted like appointments, mail, etc.
-Be able to take SD cards.

I'm not sure about interfaces. I've seen stylus and virtual keyboards mentioned but have no idea which one is better or if something else is preferable. The ease of entering text and read ebooks would take precedent over most other things though obviously I'm not aware of all the shortcomings of each method. If one method makes entering text easy but makes reading an ebook imposible then I'd rather something else. I'd like to be able to take notes with it but having a collection of literature with me at all times is the main consideration.

Obviously there are several OS's for these devices. Any idea of the lowdown of each would be appreciated. I imagine theres a certain OS thats riddled with general nasties and crashes every 5 minutes but obviously I don't know for certain.