Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

RPMdrake in Mandriva LE 2005

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sirrondach



Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:25 am
Posts: 17
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 5:16 pm    Post subject: RPMdrake in Mandriva LE 2005 Reply with quote

Is it me, or is RPMdrake broken in Mandriva 2005?

I used to be able (in Mandrake 9.2 or 10.0) to add a directory on my harddisk to the list of Software Media Sources in S.M.Manager by selecting "Local Files", giving it a name, entering the directory path and clicking on ok.
Now when I do the same procedure in Mandrivas Software Media Manager I get this message:
"Unable to add medium, errors reported: ... copying failed".
The name I've chosen, however, does get added to the Media List.

If I try to Update this Media Source, the following message appears:
"Unable to update medium; it will be automatically disabled. Errors: ...copying failed Unable to build synthesis file for medium 'Local Disk'. Your hdlist file may be corrupted".

----------------------------------

There appears to be a new textbox option on the 2005 Add Media Source dialog, namely "Relative path to synthesis/hdlist", which I don't remember from previous versions. I have no idea what to insert here so have been leaving it blank - is this the problem, and if so what is the correct entry?

----------------------------------

This problem exists on two different computers in separate locations. Has anyone else encountered it yet, and have you found a cure?
I'm lost without my local collection of rpm's at my fingertips!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 6:10 pm    Post subject: RE: RPMdrake in Mandriva LE 2005 Reply with quote

The obvious solution to this is to have KPackage installed. You can then use this to add rpms which aren't in your urpmi sources. I couldn't find it on the DVD (maybe it comes under something else) and due to a number of other things I didn't like I deleted it. I had b0rked PCLOS and thought I'd give Mandriva a go whilst I had the coverdisk, but PCLOS is now back as my second distro.

And it DOES include KPackage!
Back to top
davecs
LXF regular


Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 530
Location: Dagenham, Essex

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 6:12 pm    Post subject: RE: RPMdrake in Mandriva LE 2005 Reply with quote

Sorry that was me, didn't realise I wasn't logged in!
_________________

Asus Asus M2N32 WS Pro+Athlon AM2/4200+ — GeForce 7600GT — 2Gb Cosair VS RAM — 500Gb WD5000AAKS SATA Drive — PCLinuxOS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mugstar
LXF regular


Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 1:43 am
Posts: 184
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 8:28 pm    Post subject: Re: RPMdrake in Mandriva LE 2005 Reply with quote

sirrondach wrote:
There appears to be a new textbox option on the 2005 Add Media Source dialog, namely "Relative path to synthesis/hdlist", which I don't remember from previous versions. I have no idea what to insert here so have been leaving it blank - is this the problem, and if so what is the correct entry?


The relative path to synthesis/hdlist was there in previous versions too. It should be something like
Code:
../../media/media_info/hdlist1.cz

i.e. "how to get to the hdlist from the directory the rpms are in".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jerryf70
Guest





PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 10:18 pm    Post subject: RPMdrake in Mandriva LE 2005 Reply with quote

Have to agree with Sirrondach. RPMdrake worked fine for me in 9.1 and 10.0, now it doesn't work properly for local sources. I've never had to enter a path for an hdlist for these before.

Oh, BTW, it appears they've broken 3D support for Voodoo cards as well (although I guess most users are running something less ancient). And yes, I have set depth to 16 bit Sad
Back to top
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8453
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 11:25 pm    Post subject: RE: RPMdrake in Mandriva LE 2005 Reply with quote

Local repositories usually had the hdlist or synthesis-hdlist files in the RPM directory, so the path was simply '.'. If it really does need an hdlist file, there is a program to generate one. It's called something like createhdlist, but
Code:
urpmf hdlist

should find the file and tell you the package that contains it.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sirrondach



Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:25 am
Posts: 17
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 10:38 am    Post subject: RE: RPMdrake in Mandriva LE 2005 Reply with quote

Thanks for the info you guys, partic. jerryf70 because at least I now know it's not me going senile!
BTW, as I said in my opening post, the Media List does get the local depository name added to it, and even though the error message appears to advise that RPMdrake couldn't add the medium nonetheless it still adds the RPM's to its database of RPM's available for installation, as becomes apparent if you then open up the RPMdake "Install Programs" utility.
Strangely enough though, it doesn't add all of them, and neither will updating the media list again - I can't make any sense of this at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sirrondach



Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:25 am
Posts: 17
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 6:11 pm    Post subject: RE: RPMdrake in Mandriva LE 2005 Reply with quote

Have solved my local rpm problem by installing Kpackage as one of our guests suggested. It does the job fine and seems to have no trouble with my local directory of rpm's. So thanks for this suggestion.

Hasn't made the rpmdrake bug go away though, has it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8453
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 8:40 pm    Post subject: RE: RPMdrake in Mandriva LE 2005 Reply with quote

I'm not sure it's a bug. urpm needs the hdlist files for some of its functions. Have you tried creating them yourself?
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sirrondach



Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:25 am
Posts: 17
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2005 6:17 pm    Post subject: RE: RPMdrake in Mandriva LE 2005 Reply with quote

Nope. Don't know how to, or where to put them, as never had to do this in previous versions of Mandrake - assume that rpmdrake generated hdlists itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8453
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2005 7:19 pm    Post subject: RE: RPMdrake in Mandriva LE 2005 Reply with quote

See my previous post. You just run the command, giving it the name of your RPM directory, and it creates the hdlist files for you.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sirrondach



Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:25 am
Posts: 17
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 6:09 pm    Post subject: RE: RPMdrake in Mandriva LE 2005 Reply with quote

Yep. So I did that - the program is called genhdlist BTW - and left the generated hdlist in my rpm's directory. Then I went back to Mandriva's Software Media Manager and tried to update the "local disk" media source.
RPMdrake would have none of it and reported:-
"Unable to update medium: it will be automatically disabled. Errors: copy of[/var/cache/urpmi/partial/hdlist.local disk.cz] failed (file is suspiciously small)...copying failed Unable to build synthesis file for medium "local disk". Your hdlist file may be corrupted."

The funny thing is, it didn't disable the medium "local disk" at all, and when I switched to RPMdrake's Software Installer all of my rpm's were listed there as available for installation and I did install one just to see if it was real.

I must say this all seems like a bug to me, when a utility throws up error messages and says it's going to take a certain course of action, but doesn't do it. I think I'll throw it all back at Mandriva to see what they think.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast