Linux Web Woes!

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Linux Web Woes!

Postby rossc0 » Thu Jun 09, 2005 8:39 am

Hello!

Got a puzzler - I have Suse 9.2 installed on my box at home. I'm having problems with browsing the web.

konqueror works fine and I have no problems surfing with it.

However I installed Firefox and Mozilla - neither will surf the web - they always timeout on a page. The network settings are the same as Konqueror - but it doesn't load any pages.

I don't know if this is a red herring or not but when I change the network settings from Direct Connection (as it is in Konqueror) to auto-detect from the proxy I can browse web pages - but only those that I have loaded first in Konqueror! (sometimes I have to close and reopen firefox to view them). However, I have problems submitting forms or accessing links from the page and it times out again...

I'm utterly bemused! Any ideas how to get firefox up and running?? I need it so I can ditch my windows partion and do all my dev work in linux! :D
rossc0
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 9:23 am

Postby 1slipperyfish » Thu Jun 09, 2005 9:41 am

i know this is of little consolation but i am having exactly the same problem in mandriva usually mozilla is so reliable,you just point and go :?
perhaps it is the number of firefox that we are both using(common bug?)
paul
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2432
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Postby youlikeicecream » Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:53 am

which version ? I installed FF 1.0.4 under Kubuntu (KDE3.4) and all is well
youlikeicecream
LXF regular
 
Posts: 721
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 11:40 am
Location: Oxford

Postby rossc0 » Fri Jun 10, 2005 10:19 am

Hmm.. will check and install FF1.0.4 - because Mandriva LE had the same problem...

Will get back asap
rossc0
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 9:23 am

Postby youlikeicecream » Fri Jun 10, 2005 12:04 pm

I did not get any probs with the version of FF on Mandriva (1.0.1) but I installed the new patched version 1.0.4 anyway.
youlikeicecream
LXF regular
 
Posts: 721
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 11:40 am
Location: Oxford

Postby crussell » Fri Jun 10, 2005 3:59 pm

I had the same problem - this sorted it out ...

open /etc/modprobe.conf for editing and add the following lines (you might not need the second one..):

alias net-pf-10 off
alias ipv6 off
crussell
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 3:58 pm

Postby rossc0 » Wed Jun 15, 2005 7:09 pm

Crussell - you are a star!

I put alias net-pf-10 off in my /etc/modprobe.conf.local
rossc0
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 9:23 am

Postby Guest » Fri Jun 17, 2005 8:42 am

i put both lines into /etc/modprobe.conf and i am now in zilla as i type :D
thanks a million
i think you should get some kind of award :D
paul
Guest
 

Postby 1slipperyfish » Fri Jun 17, 2005 8:44 am

sorry that was me :roll: i forgot to log in again :roll: perhaps i should get some kind of award :wink:
paul
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2432
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Postby towy71 » Fri Jun 17, 2005 9:10 am

1slipperyfish (troll) wrote:sorry that was me :roll: i forgot to log in again :roll: perhaps i should get some kind of award :wink:
paul

perhaps the order of the boot or maybe someone should crown you :lol:
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4264
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests