Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

obvious firefox question?
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester


Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 3:52 pm
Posts: 2431
Location: wigan

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 3:55 pm    Post subject: obvious firefox question? Reply with quote

as you may know i am having trouble getting firefox to navigate the internet,
so i thought i would install the latest version just to make sure it's ok.
i have stored it in tmp and i have untarred it as it says on the firefox webpage then cd firefox-installer
then when i type ./firefox-installer it says
Code:
./firefox-installer-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

the file does exist in tmp as i can see it.
does anyone know what i am doing wrong? other than getting involved with linux Very Happy
paul
_________________
i am a follower of the culture

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
youlikeicecream
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 12:40 pm
Posts: 721
Location: Oxford

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 4:29 pm    Post subject: RE: obvious firefox question? Reply with quote

re-install libstdc version 5 and it will be fine, I had the same thing. Just to be sure i whacked all versions of libstdc i could find onto my system with positive results

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have managed to find an rpm and installed it successfully Confused but i still cannot install fire-fox from a tarball as it keeps saying
Code:
tar: /firefox-1.0.4.installer.tar.gz: Cannot open: No such file or directory
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now
tar: Child returned status 2
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors

any ideas?
thanks
paul
Back to top
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester


Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 3:52 pm
Posts: 2431
Location: wigan

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry that was me i forgot to log in again Rolling Eyes
any was i have unzipped firefox on a different file and i still get the message
Code:
/firefox-installer-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

when i ./firefox-installer although the rpm said that the installation was successful, i think it was lying Mad
i have downloaded the lib file that ends in .deb but am unsure what to do with it to install it?
paul
_________________
i am a follower of the culture

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rhakios
Moderator


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:18 am
Posts: 7634
Location: Midlands, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1sf (troll), wtf are you doing?

Mixing rpms, debs and installers is a sure way to cause problems. Stick to the package management system for your distribution (which you haven't mentioned in this thread, is it still PCLinuxOS?) and use it's official updates. As it says ina another thread, the firefox version is probably irrelevant, it is more likely to be something to do with ipv6, which should be disabled.
_________________
Bye, Rhakios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
youlikeicecream
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 12:40 pm
Posts: 721
Location: Oxford

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have libstdc++5 and libstdc++6 installed (via kynaptic) none of the dev or dbg and mozilla ff installer runs just fine

i am running Kubuntu Hoary
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester


Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 3:52 pm
Posts: 2431
Location: wigan

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when i installed the lib file i then couldn't get into /home and thus when rebooting couldn't get kde to launch. i am going to re-install and see how i go on.
is it a mandriva problem or just my crap-osity? Rolling Eyes
paul
_________________
i am a follower of the culture

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rhakios
Moderator


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:18 am
Posts: 7634
Location: Midlands, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just for you 1sf (troll), I booted up atropos (my Mandriva machine atm) and used Firefox for some web browsing and now I'm posting here with it.
So I'm going to make the rash aaumption that your problems are of your own making.

Very Happy

And now I think I'll stop using it as this fuzzy CRT is beginning to hurt my eyes.
_________________
Bye, Rhakios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester


Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 3:52 pm
Posts: 2431
Location: wigan

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have re-installed the whole os and i still get the same libstdc++ error Confused i then used the mandriva cd to re-install libstdc++ but as i was doing so it said that the file was corupted Confused
i have checked in konsole while in root ll /usr/lib | grep libstdc and i have libstdc++.so.6 would this newer version not be enough to use bash or is so.5 a specific library??
i have an old copy of fedora and am thinking of installing that as i have before and at least i can run scripts, and zilla works in it tssssssssss!!!
could i do this while still keeping the scary crow?(mandriva)
paul
_________________
i am a follower of the culture

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rhakios
Moderator


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:18 am
Posts: 7634
Location: Midlands, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why not get the libstdc++ file from somewhere else, such as an ftp mirror?

Indeed, why not use your Mandriva as it is supposed to be used by adding as many on-line sources to the urpmi config as you can. How? Look here.

Maybe you can install FC alongside Mandriva, creating a multi-boot, I'm sure it has been mentioned how to do it on these forums several times in the past, good luck!
Very Happy
_________________
Bye, Rhakios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Download Firefox to Home Directory.Extract it in home.Run firefox installer same directory...so what? Find the Firefox.sh in the directory firefox installer. Click on it(its a shell script) browser should run. You can then use application launcher to launch firefox.when you browse firefox-installer directory the shell script will still be where you put it. Icons for the application launcher are ..in the same directory. download Flashplayer from Macromedia. Run it in terminal and link to Firefox in your home/?/firefox-installer/firefox and you will flash installed auto for all your browsers.
Back to top
youlikeicecream
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 12:40 pm
Posts: 721
Location: Oxford

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you do need version 5 it is quite specific, version 6 is not the right one unfortunately. I installed firefox in a console by navigating to where i unzipped it and typed # ./firefox-installer should just run or give the libstd5 error message.

Mike Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester


Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 3:52 pm
Posts: 2431
Location: wigan

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i can now run firefox-installer(woohooo!!) but i can only get firefox to point at my home page www.wanadoo.co.uk i have looked into it and i think it might have something to do with ocsp?? i am unsure what settings to use?? i have been to mozilla and the settings they recommend are not in the options??
was feeling better but now not Rolling Eyes

it's not half hard work this linux
oh and i have forgotten my password for pcplus Rolling Eyes and when i type in the correct password it says that my email is incorrect Exclamation Question
and now to bed
thankyou all for your time
paul
_________________
i am a follower of the culture

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rhakios
Moderator


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:18 am
Posts: 7634
Location: Midlands, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1slipperyfish (troll) wrote:
i have looked into it and i think it might have something to do with ocsp??


I'd be surprised if that were true. Just as a matter of interest, do you have any better luck if you use konqueror as a browser, and is firefox still working okay from Windows?
_________________
Bye, Rhakios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester


Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 3:52 pm
Posts: 2431
Location: wigan

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

konqueror works fine in linux and mozilla works fine in windows?as i have said i have used the same mozilla settings for windows and it still doesn't work?
paul
_________________
i am a follower of the culture

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast