Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

suse pretending to be redhat possible??

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
svensl



Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 2:05 pm
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:44 pm    Post subject: suse pretending to be redhat possible?? Reply with quote

I am currently running suse9.3. I have software I would like to install that requires redhat 7.2 kernel 2.4. When trying to install the software it gives me an error saying I have the wrong platform. Is there any way to pretend to me redhat 7.2 so that the software won't comlain? Sounds silly, but asking never hurts. By the way, using export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.4 won't help.

Thanks,
Sven
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M-Saunders
LXF regular


Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 1:14 pm
Posts: 2893

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 4:50 pm    Post subject: RE: suse pretending to be redhat possible?? Reply with quote

Is it looking for an /etc/redhat-release file? If so, you could create a fake one, although that may not fix things entirely if it really needs kernel 2.4.

M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
svensl



Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 2:05 pm
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the tip, but I have no idea how to create such a file and where to put it. Any tips?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8455
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have a file called /etc/suse-release? If so create a link to it with

Code:
ln -s /etc/redhat-release suse-release


as root. This is how Mandrake did it.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
svensl



Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 2:05 pm
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried what you suggested, but unfort. it did not work. It still gives me an error saying: "Compatible platform PC Intel and compatible, Linux Kernel v.2.4".

I am still new to Linux. Is there a difference between Suse and Redhat except for interface and software packages? I mean the kernel should be the same.

If you have another idea please let me know.

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rhakios
Moderator


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:18 am
Posts: 7627
Location: Midlands, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, SuSE comes with a 2.6.x series kernel. In fact there are no 2.4.x kernels available to install with 9.3:

------------------------------------------------------------------
*** zgrep kernel /var/lib/pin/ARCHIVES.gz
------------------------------------------------------------------

---> ./DVD1/suse/i586/kernel-bigsmp-2.6.11.4-20a.i586.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/i586/kernel-bigsmp-nongpl-2.6.11.4-20a.i586.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/i586/kernel-default-2.6.11.4-20a.i586.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/i586/kernel-default-nongpl-2.6.11.4-20a.i586.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/i586/kernel-smp-2.6.11.4-20a.i586.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/i586/kernel-smp-nongpl-2.6.11.4-20a.i586.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/i586/kernel-source-2.6.11.4-20a.i586.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/i586/kernel-syms-2.6.11.4-20a.i586.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/i586/kernel-um-2.6.11.4-20a.i586.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/i586/kernel-um-nongpl-2.6.11.4-20a.i586.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/i586/kernel-xen-2.6.11.4-20a.i586.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/i586/kernel-xen-nongpl-2.6.11.4-20a.i586.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/i586/um-host-kernel-2.6.11.4-20a.i586.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/noarch/kernel-docs-2.6.11.4-21.noarch.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/x86_64/kernel-default-2.6.11.4-20a.x86_64.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/x86_64/kernel-default-nongpl-2.6.11.4-20a.x86_64.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/x86_64/kernel-smp-2.6.11.4-20a.x86_64.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/x86_64/kernel-smp-nongpl-2.6.11.4-20a.x86_64.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/x86_64/kernel-source-2.6.11.4-20a.x86_64.rpm
---> ./DVD1/suse/x86_64/kernel-syms-2.6.11.4-20a.x86_64.rpm
---> ./DVD2/suse/nosrc/kernel-bigsmp-2.6.11.4-20a.nosrc.rpm
---> ./DVD2/suse/nosrc/kernel-default-2.6.11.4-20a.nosrc.rpm
---> ./DVD2/suse/nosrc/kernel-smp-2.6.11.4-20a.nosrc.rpm
---> ./DVD2/suse/nosrc/kernel-um-2.6.11.4-20a.nosrc.rpm
---> ./DVD2/suse/nosrc/kernel-xen-2.6.11.4-20a.nosrc.rpm
---> ./DVD2/suse/src/kernel-docs-2.6.11.4-21.src.rpm
---> ./DVD2/suse/src/kernel-source-2.6.11.4-20a.src.rpm
---> ./DVD2/suse/src/kernel-syms-2.6.11.4-20a.src.rpm
_________________
Bye, Rhakios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jjmac
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:32 am
Posts: 1996
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It may be using the return from "uname -a" to get the current kernel. I gave a try with an echo to /proc/version, but it didn't work.

You may just have to put a 2.4.x in your boot directory, and boot with that just to do the sw install.

Unless anyone knows how to fool "uname" Smile


jm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nigel
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:03 pm
Posts: 1141
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jjmac wrote:


Unless anyone knows how to fool "uname" Smile



Easy... just create a script that echos the string you want, then put it in a directory that comes before /bin in your path.

Assuming that the installer isn't fully pathing the uname command Smile
_________________
Hope this helps,

Nigel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nobber
LXF regular


Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 4:24 pm
Posts: 370
Location: Nova Scotia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A geekier way would be to recompile your kernel, having first edited the Makefile to change PATCHLEVEL to 4. Confused
_________________
800 LINES ERIC - GET BACK TO PYSKOOL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nigel
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:03 pm
Posts: 1141
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nigel wrote:
jjmac wrote:


Unless anyone knows how to fool "uname" Smile



Easy... just create a script that echos the string you want, then put it in a directory that comes before /bin in your path.

Assuming that the installer isn't fully pathing the uname command Smile


sorry - forgot to say you should call the script uname

it would also be possible to set up an alias in your bash shell , something like

alias uname="echo Hello World"
_________________
Hope this helps,

Nigel.


Last edited by Nigel on Tue Jun 28, 2005 1:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What software? Do you have acces to the source code of the software?
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And please. Do not mess with uname when installing software. In fact, do not mess with uname at all.
Back to top
Nigel
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:03 pm
Posts: 1141
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Agreed, the best option would be to install from source code. Even if you do manage to fool the installer into working, there's a good chance that your SuSE system doesn't have the right version of some of the libraries the software requires.

I doubt either of my suggestions about spoofing uname would work anyhow - I would expect any halfway decent installation script to be checking the versions of the libraries it needs, not just the output of uname Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jjmac
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:32 am
Posts: 1996
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes ... compiling from sourcewould be the way to go. Sounds like it needs some updating anyway Smile

On the 'uname' thing though (grin) it can be fun trying to bypass system facilities ... (evil-grin.png) hehehe. I like the changing the kernel PATCHLEVEL idea too hehehe, looovve it. As long as it doesn't cause any problems with embedded version strings in the src any where that is ...

"The World Is Not Safe, With Such Good People In It" (grin)


jm


jm
_________________
http://counter.li.org
#313537

The FVWM wm -=- www.fvwm.org -=-

Somebody stole my air guitar, It happened just the other day,
But it's ok, 'cause i've got a spare ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aaaaaaaaaaaaaa caralho seus burros nao sabem de nada seus merdas e vc administrador cuzao bundaoooo vadio deleta essa porra eu estou mandando palhaço.
Back to top
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast