Can't execute slamdunk.exe. Please help!!!

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Can't execute slamdunk.exe. Please help!!!

Postby AlleyCat » Thu Jun 30, 2005 2:28 pm

I downloaded a file called slamdunk.exe form www.slamdunk.com, but I am unable getting it running on my brand new Linspire distro. It says something about not recognizing the format. Please help!!!!!!
User avatar
AlleyCat
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 1:46 pm

RE: Can

Postby Nobber » Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:17 pm

Going out on a limb and thinking outside the box here, but my guess is that slamdunk.exe is a Windows executable. For Windows.
800 LINES ERIC - GET BACK TO PYSKOOL
User avatar
Nobber
LXF regular
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 3:24 pm
Location: Nova Scotia

RE: Can

Postby towy71 » Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:38 pm

AlleyCat you is beyond help here :D :D :D
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4266
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

RE: Can

Postby Flea » Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:38 pm

Alleycat Slamdunk.exe is probably a windows program, in order to run windows executables with Linux you will need to install Wine (www.winehq.com) Even then you may be out of luck, it can be tricky convincing some applications to run under Wine.

Dave
The question is, what is a mahnamahna?
The question is, who cares?
User avatar
Flea
LXF regular
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 1:03 pm
Location: Ferryhill, Co. Durham

Postby 1slipperyfish » Thu Jun 30, 2005 8:03 pm

could you not run it as a c++ app???
paul
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Postby M0PHP » Thu Jun 30, 2005 8:30 pm

1slipperyfish (troll) wrote:could you not run it as a c++ app???
paul


What?!? :shock: :roll:
User avatar
M0PHP
LXF regular
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:40 am
Location: Bishop Auckland, County Durham, UK

Postby Flea » Thu Jun 30, 2005 8:37 pm

1slipperyfish (troll) wrote:could you not run it as a c++ app???
paul


If the sourcecode is available then it could be ported, but Its probably closed source. AlleyCat - why don't you email the developers and request a linux version? If they knew there is a demand for a Linux version they may (if you got high in the sky apple pie hopes) release a port :)

Dave.
User avatar
Flea
LXF regular
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 1:03 pm
Location: Ferryhill, Co. Durham

Postby 1slipperyfish » Fri Jul 01, 2005 12:56 pm

i was only asking :roll: i compiled and ran some simple c++ code to answer a question in the prog. section and it made an .exe file which is now in /home/paul, i just thought(it seems wrongly :roll: ) that if i can run this .exe file from konsole then perhaps AlleyCat could.
paul
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Postby Flea » Fri Jul 01, 2005 2:16 pm

huh? Seems a little odd that it would be given an .exe extension. What compiler are you using? If it was gcc are you specifying an .exe extension when compiling? for example - gcc program.c -o program.exe
User avatar
Flea
LXF regular
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 1:03 pm
Location: Ferryhill, Co. Durham

Postby 1slipperyfish » Fri Jul 01, 2005 2:33 pm

no i just used g++ -o hello hello.cpp and i've got an icon of a piece of paper with a green circle on it called hello.cpp and a blue cog called hello.exe?
paul
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Postby Flea » Fri Jul 01, 2005 2:42 pm

ok... freaky... I have absolutely no idea why it would do that?! Addmitedly I don't do much programing anymore these days but Iv never seen gcc/g++ do that before lol :shock:

I just had to compile a little test program now to see if I got the same -

dave@crusader:~$ g++ -o helloworld helloworld.cpp

I just got a file called "helloworld" no extension at all. If I don't specify an output file I get a file called "a.out". :?
Last edited by Flea on Fri Jul 01, 2005 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Flea
LXF regular
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 1:03 pm
Location: Ferryhill, Co. Durham

Postby 1slipperyfish » Fri Jul 01, 2005 2:46 pm

aparently that is one of the faults with the gcc compiler that if you don't specify an output you get a.out
which is ok if you only have one but if you had ten it might start to get confusing :D
paul
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Postby Nigel » Fri Jul 01, 2005 6:42 pm

1slipperyfish (troll) wrote:aparently that is one of the faults with the gcc compiler that if you don't specify an output you get a.out
which is ok if you only have one but if you had ten it might start to get confusing :D
paul


That's been a "feature" of UNIX compilers ever since I can remember... IIRC the Pascal compiler on the first Unix box I used back in 1982 used to do it.
gcc is just keeping up a fine tradition :D
User avatar
Nigel
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:03 pm
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

Postby 1slipperyfish » Fri Jul 01, 2005 10:43 pm

aha! as i said :roll:
paul
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Postby Nigel » Sat Jul 02, 2005 10:54 am

The thing is, your (well, most people's) typical program will consist of more than one source file. So what name is the linker (final stage of gcc) supposed to use if you don't tell it ?
At least a.out is easy to find in a directory full of source, include & object files, which is probably why it was chosen.
User avatar
Nigel
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:03 pm
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

Next

Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest