Ark Linux

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Ark Linux

Postby moj » Fri Jul 01, 2005 2:18 pm

I'm fairly new to Linux and bought this publication as it had an ISO of Ark Linux, aimed at newbies. I was therefore unimpressed when I booted from the cd and began the install only for the machine to shut down immediately and spit out the cd. It does this everytime.
I then went to the Ark website where I found most of the forum was dedicated to this problem with fairly unsympathetic admins.

This distro was aimed at newbies and so a smooth install is crucial (infact the magazine states it is "as simple as it gets"). Admittedly I maybe should have looked into Ark linux a little more before purchasing the magazine, but maybe the writers could have done this before endorsing a distro that is clearly not ready for general release.
moj

RE: Ark Linux

Postby Flea » Fri Jul 01, 2005 2:30 pm

I have to point out that, just because it didn't work for your box, does not mean it is "clearly not ready for general release" how many pc's out there refuse to install XP? I would hazard a guess at quite a few, does this mean that XP is "clearly not ready for general release"?

There are plenty distros aimed at newbies. Perhaps you could try out some of the following -

Xandros
Mandriva
Ubuntu

Dave.
Flea
LXF regular

Postby 1slipperyfish » Fri Jul 01, 2005 2:35 pm

how many pc's out there refuse to install XP?

67 :D
paul
i am a follower of the culture

1slipperyfish
Forum Jester

Postby nelz » Fri Jul 01, 2005 3:17 pm

Does it give any information when the install aborts? That could hold the clue to the reason for your problem, and a possible solution. I did test Ark Linux before putting it on the disc, running several complete installations with no sign of any problems, except the one covered in the magazine.