Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Ark Linux

View previous topic :: View next topic  
moj

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 3:18 pm    Post subject: Ark Linux Reply with quote

I'm fairly new to Linux and bought this publication as it had an ISO of Ark Linux, aimed at newbies. I was therefore unimpressed when I booted from the cd and began the install only for the machine to shut down immediately and spit out the cd. It does this everytime.
I then went to the Ark website where I found most of the forum was dedicated to this problem with fairly unsympathetic admins.

This distro was aimed at newbies and so a smooth install is crucial (infact the magazine states it is "as simple as it gets"). Admittedly I maybe should have looked into Ark linux a little more before purchasing the magazine, but maybe the writers could have done this before endorsing a distro that is clearly not ready for general release.
Flea
LXF regular

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 3:30 pm    Post subject: RE: Ark Linux Reply with quote

I have to point out that, just because it didn't work for your box, does not mean it is "clearly not ready for general release" how many pc's out there refuse to install XP? I would hazard a guess at quite a few, does this mean that XP is "clearly not ready for general release"?

There are plenty distros aimed at newbies. Perhaps you could try out some of the following -

Xandros
Mandriva
Ubuntu

Dave.
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
how many pc's out there refuse to install XP?

67 Very Happy
paul

nelz
Site admin

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote