New OS

Help and discussion about non-Linux operating systems

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

New OS

Postby jolharg » Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:56 pm

Hi. I'm on the way to making a new OS. I plan to program it in Assembly and directly create a disk image...won't be too hard I hope.
I've seen the work done by MenuetOS and Visopsys and like it. I hope to create my own graphical system, and use basic module procedures from the Linux kernel for hardware procedures.
However I only have the idea. I am a complete newbie at this. Are there any programs and tutorials that would help me for ASM to compiling to an image that will run in QEMU? This is a big step for me. I have no idea how to do this. I've tried the tutorial at http://linuxgazette.net/issue77/krishnakumar.html ... this seems to be the idea but I can't expand on it.
I'd also appreciate it if somewhere someone would like to help me with this programming ASM lark and help create the complete OS in a mid-term timeframe. Any takers? :) I'll distribute the "top-secret" plans to any takers...

Thanks in advance for help guys.
jolharg
LXF regular

RE: New OS

Postby Rhakios » Fri Jul 06, 2007 8:23 pm

Now if only Mike wasn't off on holiday, I'm sure he'd give you plenty of pointers. In the meantime, you could always have a look at the future Microsoft-killer that is MikeOS! :)
Bye, Rhakios
Rhakios

Postby roseway » Sat Jul 07, 2007 10:35 am

Good heavens, you're a brave man, jolharg. I can't help, but I do wish you every success.
Eric
roseway
LXF regular

Postby kilikopele » Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:04 pm

As do I. I sure hope you will post your progress here--both your successes and setbacks--as we'd love to see your progress.

One site I've found very educational is the Kernel Development page at: http://www.osdever.net/bkerndev/index.php?the_id=90

I think someone here directed me to that site.
kilikopele
LXF regular

Postby jolharg » Sun Jul 08, 2007 9:56 pm