Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New OS
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
jolharg
LXF regular

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 8:56 pm    Post subject: New OS Reply with quote

Hi. I'm on the way to making a new OS. I plan to program it in Assembly and directly create a disk image...won't be too hard I hope.
I've seen the work done by MenuetOS and Visopsys and like it. I hope to create my own graphical system, and use basic module procedures from the Linux kernel for hardware procedures.
However I only have the idea. I am a complete newbie at this. Are there any programs and tutorials that would help me for ASM to compiling to an image that will run in QEMU? This is a big step for me. I have no idea how to do this. I've tried the tutorial at http://linuxgazette.net/issue77/krishnakumar.html ... this seems to be the idea but I can't expand on it.
I'd also appreciate it if somewhere someone would like to help me with this programming ASM lark and help create the complete OS in a mid-term timeframe. Any takers? Smile I'll distribute the "top-secret" plans to any takers...

Thanks in advance for help guys.
Rhakios

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 9:23 pm    Post subject: RE: New OS Reply with quote

Now if only Mike wasn't off on holiday, I'm sure he'd give you plenty of pointers. In the meantime, you could always have a look at the future Microsoft-killer that is MikeOS! Smile
roseway
LXF regular

PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 11:35 am    Post subject: RE: New OS Reply with quote

Good heavens, you're a brave man, jolharg. I can't help, but I do wish you every success.
kilikopele
LXF regular

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 9:04 pm    Post subject: RE: New OS Reply with quote