Can't install stuff from LXF69 DVD

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Can't install stuff from LXF69 DVD

Postby carl_h » Sat Jul 02, 2005 1:06 pm

I've just built my first Linux PC and installed Fedora Core 4. I'm having trouble installing things from the LXF69 DVD.

The two packages I've tried so far are Lxdvdrip and KmediaFactory, both with zero success.

Lxdvdrip: I followed the instructions on p119, and unpacked the tarball. This didn't produce a directory named Lxdvdrip as I was expecting, but a few other directories :- doc-pak, dvdauthor, dvdwizard, mpgtx, transcode, and vamps. I've cd'd to each directory in turn, and each time I get "bash: ./configure: No such file or directory"

KMediaFactory: When I try to unpack it with "tar xvf --bzip2" I get "tar: --bzip2: Cannot open: No such file or directory"

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I guess I'm missing something vital somewhere :P
I'm a total newbie to Linux so please be gentle.
carl_h

RE: Can

Postby nelz » Sat Jul 02, 2005 8:50 pm

Lxdvdrip does unpack to an lxdvdrip directory, but it doesn't have a configure script. cd to the directory and type "make" to build the executable.

I'm not sure what your problem is with KMediaFactory "tar xjf /mnt/cdrom/Graphics/KMediaFactory/kmediafactory-0.2.2.tar.bz2" worked here. Incidentally, you can omit j/--bzip2 with the latest tar, it is capable of auto-detecting bzip2 and gzip files.
nelz
Site admin

Postby carl_h » Sun Jul 03, 2005 10:01 am

Thanks for your reply.

I had already created the lxdvdrip directory myself, so I was looking in that for another one called lxdvdrip... oops! I did a make in the directory and got a page full of errors - missing files (dvdread/dvd_reader.h, ifo_read.h, ifo_print.h), and a load of compilation errors (syntax errors and a load of undeclared functions/variables).