Back to School shopping

Non-computer-related chit-chat

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Back to School shopping

Postby phorneker » Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:04 am

(A little background here: When I am not working on my website, or freelance consulting, I work in retail.)

This past week, having worked four straight days in the shoe department, I have had plenty of moments where I have three to four customers at once asking for my attention in finding shoes for customers. You could say that this is the retail equivalent to a denial of service attack. :-)

How many of you find that the retail stores are just as busy during the "back to school" week as it is during the month of December?
phorneker

RE: Back to School shopping

Postby Rhakios » Sat Aug 18, 2007 9:38 am

We don't get much "back to school" business in a builders' merchant. Since the weather picked up though, we do see quite a few more builders. They all seem to be digging holes to put plastic drainage in at the moment, we've had to place three stock orders already this month :shock:
Bye, Rhakios
Rhakios

RE: Back to School shopping

Postby donoreo » Sun Aug 19, 2007 12:30 pm

I used to work for Radio Shack (Tandy stores to guys at one time) in Canada. Back to school was huge, but not like Christmas. We did sell more calculators in Aug and Sept as well as computers. Computers were bigger for back to school than Christmas.
I cannot deny anything that I did not say.
donoreo
LXF regular

Re: RE: Back to School shopping

Postby bigjohn » Sun Aug 19, 2007 2:34 pm

Rhakios wrote:We don't get much "back to school" business in a builders' merchant. Since the weather picked up though, we do see quite a few more builders. They all seem to be digging holes to put plastic drainage in at the moment, we've had to place three stock orders already this month :shock: