Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

kubunti root

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mrlonely



Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 6:35 pm
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 11:41 pm    Post subject: kubunti root Reply with quote

ive installed kubunti on a spare pc and to my surprise it didn't ask me for a root password i thought it would be blank but when typeing su it asked for a password wats the password i dont know this doesnt allow me me to get gnome using apt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flea
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:03 pm
Posts: 258
Location: Ferryhill, Co. Durham

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 11:51 pm    Post subject: RE: kubunti root Reply with quote

With Ubuntu, by default, there is no root password. Everything you want to run as root can be done with sudo. For example, if you wanted to run cp as root you would -

$> sudo cp /home/blah/file1 /usr/blah/file2

and enter your own user account password when asked for it.

If you really want a root account type -

$> sudo passwd

And enter a new root password, after that su will work as expected with that new password.

Dave.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrlonely



Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 6:35 pm
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 11:57 pm    Post subject: RE: kubunti root Reply with quote

thnx mate so all i ave to do is sudo apt-get etc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrlonely



Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 6:35 pm
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 11:59 pm    Post subject: RE: kubunti root Reply with quote

ok another question i did a full install of suse 9.3 and i mean everything so wheres gnome i cant find it ,, it says all is installed so im stuck trying a reinstall of gnome but nothing is working
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skecs



Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:22 am
Posts: 76
Location: Bathurst, NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 4:43 am    Post subject: RE: kubunti root Reply with quote

When logging in you choose the window manager (KDE, Gnome, etc) from the Menu button on the bottom right of the login window. All of the Gnome applications are accessible from the default KDE window manager. If teh the applications aren't on the Menu, either right click and choose Menu Editor to manually add applications or Utilities => Desktop => Menu Updating Tool and it should scan for all applications that don't appear in the menu. Select the appropriate checkboxes and thay will be added.
_________________
Regards from
Downunder!
.... _
... (0)>
... / /\
.. / / .)
.. V_/_
Linux Powered!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
A-Wing
LXF regular


Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 8:25 pm
Posts: 460
Location: Wellingborough

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 7:39 am    Post subject: RE: kubunti root Reply with quote

I think that password system in Ubuntu is what mainly put me off, I kept typing the wrong password everytime I wanted root. Then went back to my Fedora machines and typed in the user password when I wanted root!!!
Although I'm sure there are other reasons.
Oh yea, you can't boot a system that has the root filesystem on a software RAID, that was another reason.
_________________
Andrew Hutchings, Linux Jedi
www.a-wing.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
mrlonely



Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 6:35 pm
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 5:24 pm    Post subject: RE: kubunti root Reply with quote

i know that how to change windows manager its not in the option
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimsaku



Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 9:52 pm
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 5:36 pm    Post subject: Re: RE: kubunti root Reply with quote

A-Wing wrote:
you can't boot a system that has the root filesystem on a software RAID, that was another reason.


surely that just depends on whether you set the persistent superblock? i'd be surprised if ubuntu would let you install / onto software RAID without setting it, or at least giving you the option to...

jim.
_________________
there's no such thing as 2

resist cimpulsory id
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
A-Wing
LXF regular


Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 8:25 pm
Posts: 460
Location: Wellingborough

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 5:54 pm    Post subject: RE: Re: RE: kubunti root Reply with quote

As far as I am aware (I haven't done testing of this) the RAID modules aren't in the initrd, or at least don't try to start the array early enough to mount / on it.
Last time I tested it was when Hedgehog came out, I think I used persistent superblock.
I'm using Fedora with the RAID systems now anyway.
_________________
Andrew Hutchings, Linux Jedi
www.a-wing.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast