Debian 3.1 Problems

Comments, suggestions and questions about Linux Format magazine and the coverdiscs

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Debian 3.1 Problems

Postby Mr_Fish » Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:49 pm

I'm rather new to Linux, but I've dabbled now and again in the past. I thought I'd try-out Debian after enjoying using a live cd of Ubuntu. I've run across a few problems however.

First, my screen resolution won't go any higher than 800x600, yet I know my LCD's default rez is 1280x1024. I'm assuming this might have something to do with my ATI Radion 9000 gfx card. Am I right in saying that ATI and Linux don't play well together? Strange that Ubuntu set it up correctly though...

Second. I'm not sure, but I think my soundcard may not be working either. It's a Soundblaster Audigy.

Third. Despite setting it up during the installation, it seems my keyboard is set to an American layout. I found this out when I tried to register here and couldn't find "@".

I'd also like to mention that I tried to install Debian four times before I realised that I needed to press the space bar at the package selection page. Being dropped at a rather unfriendly command prompt was disheartening to say the least. But still, I got there eventually and now I'd just like to sort-out these little niggles.

TIA
Mr_Fish

RE: Debian 3.1 Problems

Postby Erin » Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:27 pm

1) You probably need to set-up the monitor correctly or/and get the ATi drivers from their website.

2) Try opening a mixer application or go to a console and type "alsamixer" as often cards are just muted for no rhyme or reason.

3) In GNOME the setting is in the preferences menu somewhere - I remember not where, I found I had to uninstall lots of US stuff and install GB files instead for dictionaries and the like.